Tags

, , , , , ,

Sundays off are a thing of beauty. Over the years, I’ve developed an aversion to working them (having been the lone wolf on the Sunday shift at several jobs.) And still, I frequently schedule myself on Sundays anyway. I don’t know why. I just do. Probably because the Sundays I do spend off, are such an exquisite treat.

Over the past year, I’ve designated Sundays off to be Old Lady Sunday. It’s the day I plan a host of activities fit for a retiree. I may be twenty-six, but on Old Lady Sunday I indulge my old soul with newspaper and coffee in bed. It’s the day I swap out my library books. Maybe take in a used book sale. There is no contemporary music on Old Lady Sunday. Not even my beloved gansta rap. I tune in for the entire Sunday lineup on NPR.

Just today I went to church with a dear friend and discovered that a Sunday service is better than reading Advanced Style. Some people just know how to rock a paisley pant suit. After lunch, I have plans to schlep my Kia to the store for groceries. (I LOVE grocery shopping! Seriously.) I may sneak in a trip to the gym, but believe you me, I will be listening to “This American Life” while I hit the weights.

In honor of this Old Lady Sunday, I decided to dress the part as well. My cowl neck cardigan cape just felt befitting. I love my soft and cozy scarf, and any excuse to wear my tortoise-shell glasses is fabulous by me.

0103102

010310

Here’s to you Old Lady Sunday. I am toasting you from my easy chair with my cup of hot tea and my cat in my lap. Hell yeah.

Scarf – Work
Cardigan Cape – 5.7.9
Earrings – Wet Seal
Basic long sleeve tee – Work
Pants – Thrifted
Shoes – Payless

Title courtesy of The Beatles – “When I’m Sixty-Four”

