Tags

, , , , , ,

I’m definitely still riding on my silver cloud of yesterday’s news. Working in a mall is obnoxious to me, at best. The mall I work at, in particular, is like being in high school. The drama! The gossip! The rivalries! The hookups! For the most part, I try to avoid it all by staying secluded in my bat cave and not talking to anyone, unavoidable as it may be. But today, feeling cocky, I likened my surroundings to something more like the old west.

Sometimes there’s a showdown at the coffee shop. Better make it a double, espresso Miss Kitty. In the mornings, the opening managers often run into one another at the bank (Wells Fargo, natch) where we exchange the usual ‘how’s tricks?’ pleasantries. So today it was my turn to saunter around the mall like Billy the Kid with my good inventory news. Another manager who likes to pry into my store’s business inquired as to how things were. I shrugged, squinted around and said, can’t complain. No need to talk specifics. I keep a good poker face, but I like to think it shows in my swagger.

Not long ago, I was in a battle with mall security over the incredibly stupid matter of sign placement, but today I stood at the front of my store, arms crossed and defied them to come argue with me. That’s right Paul Blart, mosey along. You’re business ain’t here, but down yonder.

010910

0109102

Today’s outfit was actually inspired by this one over at Blue Collar Catwalk. I already had the sweater vest thingy and I’d been looking for an excuse to buy the plaid shirt at work anyway. I now own it pink too (BOGO special!) but I haven’t figured out what to do with that one yet.

These photos are kind of sad, because they are revealing of just how short I really am. This is the first day I’ve worn flats so far, and now I know why. Most days, my height doesn’t bother me so much, but it does restrict my options when it comes to clothes. Would that I could ever wear a sheath dress. Alas, that will probably never happen.

Aviators – XOXO
Plaid Shirt – Work
Sweater Vest – Charlotte Russe
Jeans – 5.7.9
Necklace – Can’t remember, it’s old
Copper bracelet – Wet Seal
Shoes – Old Navy

Title courtesy of Will Smith – “Wild Wild West”

 

