Tags

, , , , ,

Yeah so, we pretty much haven’t turned off the 90s tunes since yesterday morning. I just got done lip-synching some Beastie Boys, in case you were wondering.

Okay, I can’t technically pin down today’s outfit as being specific to a trend but something about this dress screams 90s to me. It reminds me of something Versace would have designed in the early nineties. Maybe it’s the gold buttons all down the back? I still remember when Gianni Versace was murdered. I was so sad. I was only 14, but I had this book about fashion design with an index of designers in the back. I sat down to my book, made the Sign of The Cross and then penciled in the date. (Um yes. I was a weird kid. Why do you ask?) I remember thinking that the label would never be the same and all these years later, I maintain that sentiment.


I decided that this dress would be well-paired with this coat I recently thrifted. I have no idea why I had to have this coat. I just did. It’s huge and it’s yellow. And I love it. The coat actually reminds me more of 90s hip hop. Something TLC would have worn, prior to “Crazy, Sexy, Cool.” Over some baggy overalls, perhaps. One side undone. I definitely had some of those in the 90s, but no you will not be seeing them this week.

Ah, 90s hip hop. My first love. From the first time I ever heard Salt ‘n’ Pepa’s “Very Necessary” I knew I would never be the same. I had all of their CDs and their posters on  my wall. Next to my future husbands – Mark-Paul Gosselaar and Jonathan Taylor-Thomas – natch. My walls looked like an issue of Tiger Beat had exploded on them.

It’s really a shame that I have a deep and abiding fear of karaoke because I do still know all the words to “Shoop” and “Whatta Man.” I was even part of my own rap group, briefly. We called ourselves Hip ‘n’ Hopp (sic) and I penned our first single “Increase the Peace” myself. The talents, I have laid to waste in my life. I tell you what.

Striped dress- 5.7.9
Gold tassel necklace – Work
Leggings – Work
Boots – Target
Coat – Thrifted

Title courtesy of Fiona Apple – “Criminal”

