Tags

, , , ,

Not to put too much of a damper on the fun of 90s week, but I would be remiss if I didn’t say something for J.D. Salinger. It was probably late 90s, the first time I read “Catcher in the Rye” but it’s at the top of my all time favorite books. My heart sunk so hard, when the breaking news update hit the televisions at the gym today. I gasped and clutched my chest, which then caused my treadmill neighbor to look over at me with concern. Chill lady. I can handle my intervals, but losing one of my most beloved literary icons? Sigh.

I know he was ninety-one and all, but I guess there was still some small part of me that always wished he’d come of seclusion. Salinger was a dude after my own reclusive heart but I always felt we were missing out on something else amazing. May he rest in peace.


Anyway. On a lighter note, today’s 90s outfit is fairly self-explanatory. I was thinking mostly along the lines of knees socks, which seem to be making a comeback as of late. What evolved was more of a full on homage to Cher Horowitz. I don’t think I have to explain to the most of you why “Clueless” was so iconic to a fashion fanatic. The nineties were a good time to be a prep anyway, but “Clueless” took preppy to a whole new level of chic. Throw in a great soundtrack, great slang and a rather young and debonair Paul Rudd? Does it get any better? As if! I wanted to live in that world. Didn’t we all? Cher had so much to teach us about life. And the closet! Oh, The Closet! Need I say more? The Closet365 closet doesn’t do it justice. It just seemed an apropos place to pose.

I only got to indulge my “Clueless” reminiscence for about half the day, while I was still inside. Once I went out to run some errands, two things happened: a) My tights got a huge run in them and b) it was freaking cold out. So I changed into pants and threw on a black cardigan. Still, it was fun while it lasted. I don’t think I was ever really brave enough for knee socks in junior high. I was too busy being self-concious about my calves. So for today, I enjoyed them thoroughly.

Oh, and bonus points if you spotted my other fabulous 90s accessory today – The Scrunchie turned bracelet. I spotted a small bin of them last night at Walgreen’s. Mon Dieu! I thought. How could I have neglected to feature the scrunchie during 90s week? What have I done? A dollar was a small price to pay, to snatch one of these babies up. I think I banished all of mine early in the millenium (right after Carrie Bradshaw decried them, most likely), but there was a time when I couldn’t live without one. Who can say when I might need one again?

Argyle shirt – Work
Tweed skirt – Charlotte Russe
Tights – Target
Knee socks – Work
Mary Janes – Payless

Title courtesy of The Muffs – “Kids in America”

