Tags

, , , , , ,

Happy Friday everyone! But first a brief request: so I get a lot of lurkers on this site. A LOT. And I’m totally fine with that. I am more than happy just to have you reading and stopping by. Even the creepers coming to me from the knee sock fetish forum. (I wish I was joking about that.) I spend a fair amount of time deciphering my site meters to try and gauge my readership. But it does get a bit disconcerting at times, wondering just WHO is reading this stuff day to day. I continue to be surprised, especially, by real life people who tell me they’re reading. It’s awesome, and I love it. But most of the time I had no idea.

So my request is this – please just drop me a brief hello, if you don’t mind. I’m not saying you have to make a comment on my every blog move. How daunting! But it would make my day to know, just once, that you’ve stopped by.

I promise I don’t care that you’re reading. Generally speaking, people don’t start blogs and make the links public knowledge because they want to be left alone. This blog is not a secret. Well, maybe it’s your secret. But it’s not mine. It’s for anybody and everybody. Be you family, friend, frienemy, random person that I never really knew in second grade but who followed me here from Facebook, or another blogger. I want to know! I’m really nosy, but I promise I’m also really nice.

There, I said it. Now it’s your turn.

Although I’m really wearing this today. I’ll be honest in saying that I cheated and took these pictures yesterday. It ended up being a beautiful day and I had a free afternoon. Quite the tricky time we had on this photo shoot. (We meaning myself and the tripod.) I’ve been meaning to use this spot for awhile and it looked completely benign. But as it turns out, what appeared to be solid ground was actually several shifting feet of snow and wet leaves. Oh-so safe for prancing around in super tall stilettos. Even better trying to secure level ground for the tripod.

Lately I’ve been rekindling my love affair with heels. Having grown very little since elementary school, I learned at an early age to not only embrace heels but to make them an extension of self. There was a time when you couldn’t catch me in flats, and I could easily run a mile in my stilettos. I nearly ruined my feet in college, refusing to wear anything but, as I traipsed back and forth across campus. Often across ice and snow. I was so cavalier back then. I would pick a fight with anyone who dared to ask aren’t your feet freezing? or worse, how do you walk in those? Actually, I still might. Seriously. They’re my feet. Why are you concerned?

But I have gotten far more practical. Mostly because of my career choices. When I started working eight hours a day on my feet in retail, wearing heels became more painful than fun. I had a desk job once. When I worked as a reporter. I wore heels often then, but also ruined them. The days that I chose to wore heels would almost always be the day I was sent out on assignment to the rodeo or something equally messy. Sayonara slingbacks. It was nice knowing you.

These days, back on my feet, I have learned to compromise. I love my heels, and I wear them every chance I get. I just have to choose the ones I know can sustain a nine-hour work day. If I find a pair that does that, I buy them in ever color. For the record: despite nearly breaking my ankle on the rough terrain, the shoes pictured here are actually quite comfortable.

Since it was so nice out and I was messing around with accessories for the Weardrobe getaway contest, I took a lot of extra pictures. They are behind the cut, if you’re interested.

Pink striped shirt – 5.7.9
Leggings – Work
Bracelets – Work
Shoes – 5.7.9
Circle scarf – Target
Hat – Old Navy
Sunglasses – Work

Title courtesy of All American Rejects – “Dirty Little Secret”

Extra pictures…

 

Thanks for stopping by! Have a wonderful weekend!

