Tags

, , , , ,

Oh my. RIP Alexander McQueen. I am so crestfallen today. I don’t think I could say it any better than Chloe, quoth:

You were crazy. But a crazy I understood.”

They said 2009 was an awful year for celebrity deaths, but so far 2010 is shaping up to be devastating for a pop culture misfit such as myself. First Salinger, and now this. I wanted to put together a McQueen inspired outfit today but sadly, nothing in my closet could ever be so lush as to pay proper homage. I have this weird practically autistic twitch, where I remember red carpet gowns in vivid detail and I can’t stop remembering of all the beautiful gowns of his that I’ve adored over the years. Oh honey, you will be missed.

On the other hand, I remembered that Mr McQueen, like myself, was a fan of skulls. This odd screen tee is a favorite of mine and the best thing I could think of to wear today. It’s not much, but it does make me smile.

The pants are newly thrifted. The cardigan is also one of my favorite comfort items. I’ve had it at least seven years. I bought it from a small country store in Amish country for $5 and the quality is impeccable to this day. If there are any rogue Amish people using the internet right now and you want to sponsor my blog by sending me more sweaters, I will gladly pimp your shit any day of the week. Also, I will try not refrain from saying “shit” in my blog again. Sorry.

Cardigan – Handmade (Amish store)
Skull tee- Work
Black ribbed tank – F21
Pants – Thrifted
Shoes – Thrifted
Scarf – Work

Title courtesy of Coolio – “I’ll See You When You Get There”

