Tags

, , , , ,

Okay now it’s Fat Tuesday. Although I do love me some tacky beads, I have no plans to partake in partying it up.

But! I have to say that I love this time of year because even if you missed the boat for New Year’s, there are all kinds of fun little holidays to give you an extra kickstart. Chinese New Year is one of them and Fat Tuesday is another because tomorrow is the first day of Lent. Personally, I’m not Catholic, but I always try to give something up for the season. I just like the idea of making sacrifices in order to better appreciate what you have.

In the past, I’ve given up all manner of things for Lent. I’m a bit non-traditional. I’ve forgone everything from MySpace (back when people still cared about MySpace) to stiletto shoes. This year, I was having a really hard time coming up with something. I considered a lot of options. Anything fashion-related would have been too detrimental to the blog. I then considered giving up checking my stats and comments obsessively. Except not.  I thought about giving up music or my car. The latter would have been too challenging and the former too depressing.

It took me awhile but I think I finally got it. I’m giving up coffee. I know. I KNOW! But, I think it will be a realistic abstinence for me. I can definitely live and function without coffee, but it will take some willpower. Sure, it sounded like a good idea this morning after I indulged in one last triple-shot latte. But now it’s 7:30 in the evening and I’m feeling rather sad that I won’t be waking up to a nice Sumatra or a Kenyan Blend. Mmm coffee…. This should be an interesting 46 days. What about you guys? Giving anything up this year?

Another avenue I considered? Giving up stripes. Prior to doing this blog project, I had no idea just how prevalent stripes are in my wardrobe. It’s so strange, because I don’t even consider myself a stripe person. Maybe a damask or smaller polka dot. And yet, here they are again. Stripes. I like this little smock dress, though. It’s pink and black, which makes it very Jenny indeed. A bright item for otherwise dull days. I usually wear it with my black circle scarf, but today just called for added pink.  I feel like Rainbow Brite headed for gay Paris. And I love it.

Black cardigan – Target
Black ribbed boy tank – F21
Pink scarf – Work
Pink striped smock dress – Work
Leggings – Work
Shoes – Old Navy

Title courtesy of Infernal – “Paris to Berlin”

