Tags

, , , , ,

Greetings! Well, I didn’t get much of anything that we discussed yesterday, done today. Blog wise. However, I did sleep in a little, make French toast and go roller skating.

I went roller skating with the nine-year-old girl that I mentor, as part of a volunteer program sort of like Big Brothers/Big Sisters. Little buddy and I have been partnered for about a year and a half. She likes Lady Gaga and sarcasm about as much as me, so I consider it a good match. We do things like go to movies, get ice cream, go swimming, etc. It’s a pretty fun gig, which also lends some validity to my seeing Miley Cyrus movies.

Anyway. I hadn’t been roller skating in probably a decade, so I was pretty excited. I used to love it. The music. The crazy lights. Cruising around the rink at warp speed. The ghetto fabulousness of it all. Luckily, the rink was EXACTLY as I left it, right down to the really ugly skates and the bad skate games. Little buddy and I sat those out, because we learned that we both also share a disdain for Green Light Go.  We will totally be back though. I can’t believe I went ten years not doing that.


Random act of vanity. And I threw in a glowy picture. I couldn’t resist. I have no idea why my camera does that sometimes.

Since a few people expressed an interest in Coat Week, I’m going to attempt it. I’ll see if I can’t wear all of my coats this week in combination with outfits. I only actually own three winter coats and they aren’t terribly exciting. I like the idea of coats aesthetically and in a fashion sense. But buying them drives home the inevitability of cold weather and I balk at that big time. Spring trenches and jackets, on the other hand…me likey. A lot. So, I’ll show you those too.

I didn’t really know what to wear today for skating. I was thinking comfort, like leggings. Which I did wear, but you can’t see them. We’re in the middle of a snowstorm and it was so cold out that I felt the need for two pairs of pants. These oversized capris turned out to be just the thing.  Probably could have used a couple more pairs because it was chilly at the rink. We drove home with both heat and radio blasting. A Biggie song came on and Little Buddy turned to me and said, I love this song. I have it on my i-Pod.

Verklempt, is the only way I can describe myself in that moment.

Hat – Work
Basic black long sleeve – Work
Scarf – Work
Capris – Thrifted (Old Navy)
Boots – Target

Title courtesy of Call and Response – “Rollerskate”

