Tags

, , , , ,

So there was some drama today. And now that the crisis has been averted it seems a bit silly to go into it. But given that it pretty much consumed my day, I’m writing about it.

I was getting set up to take pictures this morning, when I either tripped over or caught something on (I’m not sure which) my tripod, causing it to do a nosedive forward and my camera to go SPLAT face first onto the concrete. This then bent something or other to do with the lens and whatever makes the lens move in and out. And it would then not take any pictures. I proceeded to have a small heart attack. I yelled and screamed and tried to get the poor thing to go back to normal. Eventually I did something right, which made the camera agree to take pictures.

As you’ll see in the pictures below, though, something was still off. The pictures were blurry and the camera was making awful beeping cries at me. I had to go to work, but I called the husband panicked and explained the situation. He agreed to look at it as soon as he was home. I didn’t hear from him for several hours, but when I did, he told me that the camera refused to turn on for him and seemed pretty much totalled. At which point my heart dropped and I began doing the math in my head about how much of my clothing budget was going to be lost to a new camera. Not to mention how on earth I would be able to take daily pictures in the interim.

To be honest, a better camera is an investment I’m considering later in this project, but I was nowhere near ready to sing “Dust in the Wind” to my trusty sidekick. The husband called a few more times to inform me that he had found no suitable replacement. I wanted to cry. Or die. Or quit the blog. Or all of the above. I swear Drama is not my middle name. It’s Marie. But I was pretty damn crestfallen and stressed about the whole thing.

Cut to around eight this evening. I was still at work and on edge and hadn’t heard from him in several hours, so I called to check in. He tried to bluff and tell me that he was still figuring things out but eventually broke down and informed me that I had nothing to worry about. In an act of desperation, he took the camera entirely apart and performed some sort of magical open heart surgery. Miracle of miracles, the thing is back to normal. Good as new.

Not much to say about the outfit today. I’m kind of drained. But I think this is one of my favorite ones so far. Floral, flouncy, scarf-y, purple, fun. My way of saying maybe, baby? to spring.

So, yes. Please excuse the slightly blurry quality about these pictures. I consider it a supreme act of bravery that the camera even took them after the trauma it had sustained ten minutes earlier. As far as I can tell, my newly-mended friend is back to taking sharp images. Thank the Lord, and thanks to the husband more than words can express.

And to you, little camera buddy. I’m sorry for all the times I yelled at you for killing your battery or taking badly lit pictures. I will never take you for granted again. In fact, I think it’s time we give you a name. I’m thinking Persephone.

Dress – 5.7.9
Long sleeve black shirt – Work
Scarf – Thrifted
Belt – Thrifted
Necklace – Vintage
Shoes – Work

Title courtesy of Elton John – “Someone Saved My Life Tonight”

