Tags

, , , , ,

Oh my. I have to start attempting to get the blog done earlier in the day. These late night posts not only kill what’s left of my evening after a long day at work, but I’m far less inspired at 10:30 at night. There are things that I think of, early on in my day, that I want to write about, only to forget it later. And then it just turns a broken record of “God, I’m busy” and/or “God, I’m tired. And good God, I am busy. There is a magazine on my coffee table that has been sitting there, untouched, for three days now. Not cool, life. Not cool.

Anyway, I’ve been doing a bunch of interviews at work lately, trying to hire some new part-time help. All I have to say is, is no one teaching the kids these days about a solid handshake? Seriously. I’m no alpha male, but even I know the value of a firm grip. Some of these girls that come in for interviews have no such concept. I shook a girl’s hand today, and it was like is that seriously your hand? Seriously? I thought it was a dead goldfish. I was about to apologize for smashing her pet guppy in my palm. Try again, please.

After such an awesome thrifting trip, like the one I had yesterday, there is always a new conundrum. It goes from what to wear to what not to wear? I feel spoiled and overwhelmed by my new options. Still, I had some catching up to do.

This dress is actually from the trip before last. Hoarding once again, I waited for the right time to wear it. I needed the right belt (which I did successfully find yesterday). All of the elements had to align. They never did. I got tired of waiting and just busted it out today. I think every girl needs a good prairie dress. With its simple printed linen and voluminous sleeves, here is mine. This dress actually reminds me of something that belongs on a fundamentalist compound. The only thing missing is a French braid with a giant bang poof. Finally a use for that stupid Bump-it I bought, that doesn’t work worth a damn.

I am very in love with the print on this dress. The only thing I’m iffy about is the sleeves. They are even bigger than they look here. (Think two inflated shopping bags strapped to my shoulders). I pinned them to the best of my ability, today. Still, they threatened to carry me away in the wind. And on yonder down the Oregon Trail. Nevermind dysentery. I have been smothered to death by my own sleeves.

I adore the dress. But I am daydreaming of a summerized version with a shorter and simpler cap sleeve. Like my early prairie sisters, I may need to learn to sew.

Dress – Thrifted
Light blue long sleeve – Work
Boots – 5.7.9
Necklace – Can’t remember
Belt – Thrifted

 Title courtesty of Animal Collective – “Summertime Clothes”

 

