Tags

, , , , , , ,

Sigh. I think we need to send out a search party. Spring is nowhere to be found and I am becoming restless about the whole affair.

I have an entire bulletin board of ideas and a closet full of springy things, and yet the theme around here seems to be a new shade of grey for every day of the week. I’m not gonna lie. It’s making me depressed. I spent pretty much half of my day debating what to wear, because there are some days where I throw caution to the wind and wear what I please regardless of the weather. And then there are days when the weather beats me into submission and I don’t even want to get dressed at all. Today was one of those days.


I put together one outfit, which the husband completely vetoed. He said it involved entirely too much turquoise and made me look like an old lady. I dared him to pick out my outfit for me, but he declined. Chicken. I then sat on my closet floor soul-searching for a very long time. He wanted to know what was taking me so long. I asked him to pick one item for me to build an outfit around. He picked jeans. Boring, lackluster, old jeans.

These are them. They’re alright. I’m just not much of a jeans girl. I’m a dressy girl through and through, which is why I ended up dressing up my denim. I do quite like the jewel tone colors. Funny how I ended up wearing turquoise afterall. Some days are just turquoise days. What can I say?

I’m hesitant about my jewelry, although I love these pieces. Here’s why – a long while ago, a girl I knew told me that it was a bad idea to wear big earrings and a necklace at the same time. She had no real basis behind her theory. She just said it was too much. Too overwhelming. Too tacky. Something like that. Being the jewelry enthusiast that I am, I was heartbroken over this news. And then for years I proceeded to heed her advice. Then one day it occurred to me that said advice came from one of the very least fashionable people I have ever known in my life. And I believed it?! Man, I shudder to think of all the years my relationship with jewelry suffered for it.

What is the strangest fashion advice you’ve ever recieved? Did you follow it?

Jeans – Wet Seal
Turquoise Bow Top – Work
Cardigan – Target
Necklace – Wet Seal
Earrings – Charlotte Russe
Shoes – Wet Seal

Title courtesy of Modest Mouse – “Talking Shit About a Pretty Sunset”

