Tags

, , , , , ,

There’s a quote I’m fond of. (Actually. I am fond of quotes in general. I collect them. So, if you have good ones, do share!)

But anyway. The quote: Normal day, let me be aware of the treasure that you are. – Mary Jean Iron

Today was one of those days, fo sho. Don’t throw things at me, but I confess: I actually kind of like Mondays. For one thing, they are rarely the beginning of the week for me, so I don’t associate them with going back to work. However, they do still always feel like a brand new week and a time to regroup. Mondays are good for making lists, writing things down and crossing them off, making plans, determining your loose ends and then tying them up accordingly. All those good things that OCD people like myself like to do. A case of the Mondays is not something I’m typically stricken with.

And so, today was nice. End of story.



Sorry these pictures are somewhat dark. I neglected to use my flash and the camera lacks basic instincts in the Auto setting. Oh well.

I have been wanting to wear this cute Betsey Johnson blazer for quite some time. The trouble was, and remains to be, styling it. It is somewhat masculine and I struggled to make it work in a way that didn’t scream 1980s comedienne. Don’t EVEN get me started. I wanted to girly it up as much as possible without downplaying its innate awesomeness. I think I did my best today, but I still didn’t hit the note I was going for. I wanted to look chic and it came out more dapper in my opinion. No matter, though. I will continue to try and unlock the secrets of the blazer. I will make it work in ways that will make Tim Gunn proud, as opposed to Paula Poundstone. I am open to ideas.

Blazer – Thrifted (Betsey Johnson)
White Button Down – Thrifted (Gap)
Jeans – 5.7.9
Fuchsia Boy Tank – F21
Shoes – Thrifted (Steve Madden)
Belt – Thrifted

Title courtesy of Mika – “Blame it on the Girls”

