Tags

, , ,

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

I’m excited for today, even though I’m not even a smidgen Irish. Then again, that hasn’t stopped the majority of last-minute shoppers in my store. I have a feeling we’ll be bombarded today with people grabbing green garb. I’m okay with that. It’s been an unusually quiet spring break. I usually dread times when school is out because it brings hoards of annoying little girls who hover in a gaggle around my shopliftable items and make rude demands. Honey, I am twice your age. You do not need a fitting room. What you need is to mind your manners and ask if you may have one. Thanks.

But as I said, it’s been really dead this break. I daresay I almost miss the petulant little urchins.

Yeah, I guess you could say I dressed up. How many legitimate excuses does one get to wear such an outrageous green dress, but on St. Patty’s Day? This dress will probably get me some staredowns at the mall today, but oh well. I can’t help but love this dress.

She is vintage, although I’m not sure from what era. It’s been too long since my history of costume class. I got it at an absolutely lovely little shop in Longmont, CO called Serendipity. Heaven forbid you ever find yourself in Longmont, CO (trust me on this) you should at least check the place out. They had all kinds of awesome vintage furniture, artwork, jewelry, memorabilia, dishes and what-have-you. Exactly the kind of place I’d have, if I ever had my own shop.

No big plans for me, other than working. As the oldest employee at my store by about 150 years, I bear the brunt of working on party holidays, but I always volunteer willingly. Plus, this dress is built for tiny vintage ladies and therefore a bit of a squeeze in the waistline. There will be no consumption of green beer or green bagels under her watch.

Dress – Thrifted (Vintage)
Shoes – Payless
Necklace – Wet Seal

Title courtesy of Neutral Milk Hotel – “Holland, 1945”

