Tags

, , , ,

Well, if nothing else, I walked out of work tonight to a sunny evening. God, what a welcome sight. That is not going to get old any time soon.

I even have spare time to catch up on things tonight. I’ve been behind all week. Blogs to read, emails to return, etc. The husband has once again commandeered our television. I swear I am going to have to start a support group for Discovery Channel widows. If there is one of those dorky science shows, dorky mystery shows or especially dorky science mystery shows on, the husband will watch it. It used to be a beautiful thing, us watching tv together. We loved the Travel Channel, The Food Network and maybe even some E! together. But lately, I am the third wheel to my spouse and that man who goes out into the wilderness and drinks his own pee. Other nights, you’ll find me neglected in favor of “Pawn Stars” or “Swamp Loggers.” Seriously. Swamp Loggers. How is that even a show?




My boss affectionately refers to chambrey items as “prison garb” and he’s right. Left to its own devices, chambrey just kind of hangs there looking drab and somehow deprived. I find it super challenging to merchandise in the store, for the same reason. There is nothing terribly exciting or even aesthetically pleasing about a giant wall of blue grey. It’s white noise. It’s Muzak. It’s…meh.

That said, I see the potential in chambrey beyond costuming a dust bowl era musical. Because I really liked the shape of this dress, I stepped up to the challenge. It took me several tries. I turned this dress down several days in a row this week before today. I knew I wanted to pair it with my striped shirt per the Kendi Everyday look that everyone’s been digging this week. But still, my version fell flat. The skirt was also irking me, with its uneven hem. I decided to try another skirt underneath for added length and that ended up being the key. The pop of white, is what absolutely brought my poor little dress to life. I am now completely happy with it and have ideas to spare.

My chambrey section is getting a makeover tomorrow. And as for prison garb, if it can all be this fun, then I can finally stop running from the feds. A happy Sunday by all accounts.

 Dress – Work
Navy Striped Shirt – Wet Seal
White Skirt – Thrifted (F21)
Tights – Thrifted
Necklace – Wet Seal
Shoes – Payless

Title courtesy of Gabriella Cilmi – “Sweet About Me” 

