Tags

, , , , , , ,

Oh man. Apparently I’m on a kitchen kick. Not only did I cook last night (and no one died) but tonight I found myself throwing together a casserole for book club. And now I’m baking. *Spoiler alert for my friends coming over tomorrow night* I am making chocolate cupcakes with blue frosting and chocolate sprinkles. They’re going to be amazing.

It’s not that I don’t enjoy these sporadic bouts of domesticity, it’s just that they’re well… sporadic. I really should force myself into the kitchen more often. I find it incredibly peaceful. Perhaps I’ll add it to my birthday list.

The birthday list is a bucket list of sorts, only with a shorter deadline. Every year in conjunction with my birthday, I make a list of things I want to accomplish before my next birthday. Always in the increment of my age. i.e. This year I’m turning 27. So I’ll make a list of 27 things. I usually only accomplish about five things off my list. Which, statistically means that my failure rate gets higher each year. But whatever. It’s good to have goals right? I’m still working on the list for this year, but I will share it sometime in the next week or so.

When I first put this together, I was wearing it with the blouse underneath tied in a knot ala Kyla at Blue Collar Catwalk, but then when I went to cook and got hot, I untied it and discovered that I liked the super casual feel of it as well. Not that it really matters at this point, but question for question’s sake: which do you guys like better?

I’ve passed on this outfit a couple of times since it first popped into my head. It’s not terribly me, or so I thought. For starters, it’s just super casual, unlike a lot of what I’ve been wearing lately. Secondly, this dress is short. Curse of the cheap clothing – it shrunk badly upon first wash and I’ve been at a loss to style it ever since.

But for today, I am actually quite pleased with the overall look. I love the floral print blouse trying to stand out under muddy colors. Not unlike the beginnings of spring going on around me. It’s homey and cute for a day of doing practically nothing. And, with a few more days standing between me and 27, I’m going to take advantage of the leeway to show leg. Once the birthday hits and renders me too old, I promise I’ll donate all my high hemline items to Lindsay Lohan’s Home for Indecent Skanks (as opposed to decent?) or some other appropriate charity.

Jacket – F21
Dress – F21
Blouse – Thrifted
Necklaces – Wet Seal and Work
Knee Socks – Target
Boots – 5.7.9

Title courtesy of Saul Williams – “List of Demands (Reparations)”

