Tags

, , , , ,

My creative process: usually involves running around the house like a crazy person in various states of undress. Chugging from a bottle of Diet Mountain Dew (nine more days until coffee), listening to bad pop on high volume, scribbling things on Post-It notes and yelling at the cats.

This morning I got an earlier start than usual, and as a result, tried to be just a bit quieter for the sake of my neighbors. Ah, apartment life. For as nice as our place is, the walls (and ceilings and floors) are still terribly thin. In the mornings I can often hear our next door neighbor hacking up something nasty-sounding through the bathroom medicine cabinet. Which is a fair trade, I suppose, for whomever is privy to my morning renditions of Beyonce’s “Halo,” in the shower. Still, our new building is nice in that I no longer have to listen to a 200 pound dog romping around upstairs at all hours of the day. For the most part, I try to reciprocate the favor by keeping the volumes low.

The lack of madness in my morning routine the nmanifested, I believe, in today’s outfit. I thrifted this skirt recently and I kind of feel like it belongs in a music video. It’s bold, but I rather like it. Today I styled it a bit high in the waist, and finally made use of these stupid electric blue leggings that I bought against my better judgement. I’m a huge fan of brightly colored tights on other girls, but haven’t yet mastered the art of them myself.

Also contributing to the crazy effect of it all, is what I call the Ultimo Bird Necklace. We have already discussed my love of birdlike accessories. So you can imagine the sense of awe I have in the presence of this necklace. Reverence, even. I have a handful of other bird necklaces, but this is like… like fifty bird necklaces in one. It’s practically a metal scarf made out of birds! Amazing! I love it more than words could ever express.

Anyway, the idea behind my early morning was that I could get my post done before work and then play proper hostess to my friends coming over tonight. We’re celebrating a couple of birthdays including mine. It’s not my actual birthday yet, but since it is my party, I’m okay with looking like a crazy bird lady in a maniacal striped skirt. My friends love me for what’s inside. Right guys? Right? Guys….?

Skirt – Thrifted
Sweater – Isaac Mizrahi for Target
Belt – Stolen off a shirt
Leggings – Vanity
Shoes – 5.7.9
Bird Necklace – F21

Title courtesy of Britney Spears – “Womanizer”

