Tags

, , , , , ,

Something cool happened today. My great-grandmother celebrated her 100th birthday. I wish I could have been there.

One hundred years. An entire century. Can you imagine? I have been all day, actually. See, when I was younger I always thought that I wanted to die young in a blaze of glory. I still fear aging quite a bit, but the more I think about it, the more inspiring it sort of is. If longevity is really on my side, just think of all the things I still have to experience in my lifetime. How many incredible changes and advances will I get to see? What kind of music will we listen to and how will we be listening to it? What amazing books will I have read? Most importantly, what will we be wearing? I might still be kicking and wearing outfits in 2083! This is important!

Well I can’t predict the future, but for today, this is what I wore:

What? You don’t buy it? You don’t recognize that smirk? Those mad posing skills?

Fine. I may have grown a few inches (three maybe?) since the above photo was taken, but that is indeed mini moi. It’s O.G. Jenny and she’s here to provide my fashion inspiration this week. For my birthday theme, I decided to take some a style page from my own scrapbook. All week, I’ve created outfits based favorite old photos and outfits from my childhood. Updated appropriately of course.

I’m not sure how old I was in the original photo. It’s impossible to tell, because I had no hair for the first three years of my life. But I have always loved this photo. As much as I struggled to come up with a modern adaptation, I knew I had to use this one.

Jumpers are making a big comeback lately, and I honestly did buy one, which I later rejected and returned. Toddler Jenny may pull one off nicely, but nearly 27-year-old Jenny declared it a no-go. Shortly after I found this plaid top and recognized it as a good match for picking flowers and toting Raggedy Ann. Since it was quite nice today, I opted for the slightly more feminine skirted version. Heels and sheer stockings, too. As much as I appreciate the creeper fetish traffic contingent, it just looked better sans knee socks.

Pop back by tomorrow as theme week continues. Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to nag my husband about his poor health habits. Because, if I’m going to live to be 100, I’m going to need a partner in crime.

Plaid Blouse – Ross
Orange Tank – Max Rave
Skirt – Max Rave
Flower Pin – Claire’s
Belt – Thrifted
Shoes – Thrifted

Title courtesy of Cowboy Mouth – “Jenny Says”

