Tags

, , , , , ,

I considered a number of April Fool’s pranks for today’s blog. The problem is that I could never pull off pranks. I’m one of those people who absolutely cannot keep a straight face, when any sort of shenanigans are going down. At slumber parties where crank calls were involved, I would never be the talker, just the second party listener and I would ruin even that by giggling uncontrollably on the other line. On the off-chance that I manage not to crack a smile or start laughing, I immediately follow-up the occasional off-color remark with juskidding! This happens in person or on the phone. I’m sure it would only continue onto the internet.

And anyway. I’m too tired. I’ve been suffering from some random insomnia. Probably just a seasonal thing, as I’m not stressed at the moment. Even still, I haven’t slept well in about two weeks and it’s starting to take a toll on me. I just have to wrap up my work week and then we are off to sunny Santa Fe for a quick roadtrip. Hooray!

If you are just tuning it, it is theme week here at the Closet365 project. Because it was my birthday this week, I’ve been seeking outfit inspiration from favorite old photographs and either recreating them or seeking inspiration from them. Today’s photo is an oldie but a goodie.

Another pretty simple look from a beloved photo, here. You’ll notice, I’m mostly using photos from my very early years. I find them to be my favorite for their inherent simplicity and charm. It’s also because sometime around age 8, I started getting more cheeky in my fashion choices and it was not always for the better. Things just got downright awkward around 11. But there is always time for another theme week later down the line. Maybe some day I will feel brave enough to recreate those looks and share them with you. In the meantime, look what cute little kids we were! I was the proudest big sister when my brother was born. Later down the line, I would become a mean and jealous older sibling. But in the early days, I always can be seen grinning ear-to-ear in our photographs together.

My older self would never think to pair such a brilliant lavender with classic plaids. O.G. Jenny was more fearless than I. Today I take my influence from her. I even wore a purple ribbon in her honor. I think I would actually really like this look on an ordinary day. It gives me a weird 60s vibe, which is better than the 80s (where this photo originates) any day.

The skirt is not as close in color as I’d like it to be, but it does feature a similar diagonal plaid. The rest I had to make up since I can’t see my legs. I went with knee socks and maryjanes this time, because in at least half of my childhood photos, I am wearing some. There is a very good chance that’s what I was wearing in the original photo. And I went with brown argyle ones, as a nod to my little bro. I stole some of his look. Told you I was a mean big sister.

Lavender Tee – Max Rave
Skirt – Thrifted (Forever 21)
Cardian – Max Rave
Socks – Work
Shoes – Payless
Necklace – The Icing

Title courtesy of Tommy Tutone – “867-5309 (Jenny)”

