Tags

, , , , , ,

We blew out of Colorado at 4:30 and headed out for the desert.

I have always been and will always be down to wander. Too many weeks trapped in town, wanderlust in full swing, I was ready to explode if I didn’t get out. I don’t get to do it nearly as often as I’d like but I am a traveler at heart. I love everything about it. I love ticket counters, hotel lobbies, road maps and dirty little roadside gas stations. Window seats.  Single servings. Crappy hotel hair dryers that smell like burning moths and short out after three minutes of use. I love being in the middle of nowhere, where the only radio stations are AM talk radio and Tejano. I love highways. Sunsets and sunrises and strange intersections at dusk. I don’t like to stay in one place for long, which is probably why I’ve spent the last couple of years kinda unhappy (ready to shoot myself in the face, really) stuck in my hometown.

So imagine my delight at crossing the border into New Mexico and arriving safely in Santa Fe. So far there has been a whole lot of nothing to do. The weather can’t decide whether it wants to snow. Or be sunny. Or windy. Or all of the above at once. Picture taking was severely compromised. No matter though. I have so few cares at the moment.

Theme week continues and lil Jenny has the right idea, I think.

Getting ornery and playing in closets even at an early age, I see. If the abundance of pictures is any indication, I spent A LOT of time in this flower adorned dress. I can see why, too. It’s darling. Luckily, I found an adult contender that I find just as giddy-making.

Once again, I thrifted this dress not really thinking much about its ties to an earlier childhood look. But I love the similarities. Unlike it’s beloved predecessor, this outfit only gets to make a one time appearance, but the dress will make a nice spring and summer piece with other fun layering. There it so much color to play off of. It’s a bit hard to tell, but I think the original dress was mostly blue. As a throwback to that, I layered a blue top underneath. The dress also desperately needed a slip, which I don’t own. Instead, I added a blue skirt underneath for added opacity and it all tied together quite nicely.

In any event, I just love it. Though maybe not as much as I love jumping on beds that aren’t mine, free HBO and blowing my semi-annual bonus money on flea market jewelry. Luckily, there is room for all of this today. And for that, I am happy.

Dress – Thrifted
Aqua Tank – Work
Blue skirt – Roxy
Belt – Thrifted
Earrings – Wet Seal
Wedges – Wet Seal

Title courtesy of Spoon – “Black Like Me”

 

