Tags

, , , , ,

Shhh. Listen. Hear that? That manic high-pitched buzzing? That sounds sort of like the violin solo from “Devil Went Down to Georgia”? That’s the sound that coffee makes in my brain. Oh joyful noise.

We didn’t get much time to talk about it yesterday, but I was indeed reunited with my BFF yesterday, after a long long Lenten season without. It was pretty much as glorious as could be expected. Starting with a skinny vanilla latte and on to an iced Americano, coffee and I wasted no time in becoming reacquainted. This morning I made the perfect batch of Sumatra at home and it was as if nothing had changed.

I’m pretty proud of myself for making it 40+ days. For the record, I didn’t cheat a single time. Not on days when I was tired and stressed and I missed the polite hum of productivity surging through my veins. Not when I almost bought a coffee-flavored yogurt because I missed the taste. Not even when my store shares a ventilation system with the mall coffee shop and I could smell it wafting in every morning. Nope not even then. In fact, I didn’t even go in said coffee shop until a few days before the end of my fast. I bought a cup of tea then, and I explained my absence to the barista. She applauded my efforts and promised to make me a big fatty espresso tomorrow when we’re both working. I’m excited.

 

So that’s my story. Pretty simple outfit today. It’s always a little tough getting back into the swing of things after a theme week. Themes require a bit more pre-planning but they can be nice in that they allow me a respite from standing in my closet feeling clueless on a given morning. Or afternoon. Today was also the curse of the day off, and I didn’t get dressed for real until about two.

The military vest, I decided, doesn’t get nearly enough play. It’s badass. So today, I decided to run with that fact. Today I went with more of a Zapatista approach. It’s a bit of a stretch mixing politics and fashion, but when the two mingle, I couldn’t be happier. For the life of me, I don’t know if it gets any better than the video for “Run This Town.” (Even though I can’t stand Rihanna and I think she ruins what could have been a beautiful trifecta.) 

Personally, I am endlessly fascinated with revolutions and revolutionaries. I was easily the most attentive student in my modern political theory class. Something which probably troubled my professor. Especially when I handed in essays relating the theories of Herbert Marcuse to my stiletto shoes. But whatever. With the right scarf and enough coffee, I could totally head up the revolution. I really believe that.

Plain White Tee – Work
Military Vest – F21
Leggings – Work
Skull Scarf – 5.7.9
Buckle Boots – Work

Title courtesy of Sophie Ellis-Bextor – “If I Can’t Dance”

p.s. In case you missed it earlier today, my giveaway announcement is here. Go enter!

