Tags

, , , ,

So we are fast approaching my 100th outfit. (Yes, that is totally a hint to GO ENTER THE GIVEAWAY) but also, I thought I’d just do a quick check-in to let you know how things are going on my end. In case anyone was curious.

It is actually (incredibly) much easier than I thought it would be. It turns out that coming up with a new outfit to wear every day, is mostly a matter of intention. Yes, it’s easier to get up most days, roll out of bed and put on the same things. Day after day or week after week. Yes, it takes a little extra effort to be creative, but it’s not impossible by any means.

I think a lot of people would make the excuse that it’s too expensive. So far, for me, it’s not. In fact, I sat down to do a little brainstorming today and started freaking out because I feel like I have too many outfits. I enjoy acquiring cute new things as much (okay more) than most girls, and right now I feel like my closet is backlogged. I’m going to have to play catch-up to make sure I give every piece a fair shake. I have adhered to my budget with two small exceptions: 1) the mom has played patron to our two thrift trips in exchange for some work that I do for her. 2) I got my semi-annual bonus check last month and I spent some of it on clothes. But that’s it. Otherwise, I’ve actually spent less than the allotted $100 a month out of our household income.

100 days, 100 different outfits. And I’ve had at ton of fun and felt pretty, in the process, every single day. Well worth the effort, if you ask me.

 

Today, on the other hand, I don’t have much to say about. I think there are days when I’m feeling less creative, and as a result I gravitate towards old familiar items. Possibly, because I know better what I’m working with.

I’ve had this sweater forever and the skirt? Forever and then some. Like, I bought it at my store, long before it was even my store. I even have very specific memories of buying it there, and everything. Trippy. But anyway.

It was all a good excuse to showcase my shoes. Thrift stores in Santa Fe had some of the oddest pricing, I’ve ever seen. Like, a belt was 99 cents, which is the norm. But then a completely ordinary sweater would be $15. Huh? Bargains were few and far between, but this was one such find. I paid $4 for these Kate Spade kitten heels. At the same store where I paid $5 for a rather generic scarf. Again, WTF? But I guess the prices adjusted themselves in the grand scheme of things. So there’s that.

Sweater – Work
Skirt – Work
Necklace – The Icing
Shoes – Thrifted

Title courtesy of La Roux – “Bulletproof”

