Tags

, , , , ,

Guess what today is?! It’s my centennial outfit post! Number 100!

First of all, thank you to everyone who is reading the blog. Those of you who have been following from the beginning and everyone else who has found me along the way. The support has been fantastic. It has already been an incredible journey and it’s not even close to over. When I started, I had no idea how this whole thing would go. If at all. Still, I knew if I could make it to the 100 mark, I’d be just fine. And I am. I am still going strong and I’m excited for the rest to come. All 265 days of it.

Secondly, thank you to everyone who entered the giveaway. The suggestions (which are now public on this post) were all beyond creative and inspiring. All I have to say is, thank God I did a random drawing and not a contest. I could have never never picked one myself. Instead, I did things old school and wrote each one down on a Post-It, crumpled it, and threw it into a hat. And then left the rest to fate.

I have to say, I was very nervous. Two of you requested Lady Gaga, and I was shaking in my kitten heels trying to picture how I was ever going to come up with an outfit that would do her justice, let alone wear it to work. Not so lucky for you guys, but luckily for me, it was not to be. Try me again at 200, though.

Instead, I drew a request that I was more than happy to accommodate:

Meg said:

“I think you should wear SEQUINS, of course!”

I’ve known Meg, in an online capacity for many years, and her love of sequins is no secret. Nobody, can rock the sequins like Meg. I just had to try my best. Admittedly, I am a fan of sequins, but I don’t own a lot of them. Except for, you know… this old thing:

Congrats Meg! And make sure you shoot me your address, so I can mail your goodie basket.

Meanwhile, I feel like we all kind of win today. Unwittingly, Meg also liberated my spring skirt. I promise it wasn’t rigged! Just completely serendipitous. But how excited am I to finally be wearing it?! It is pretty much The Best Skirt Ever Invented In The History of Ever. Ever. I want to be buried in it. For serious. 

There are more pictures behind the cut, but no picture could really capture its beauty. This thing is a complete and utter treasure brought to me via Buffalo Exchange. The second, I saw it, I think my heart skipped a beat. That was clear back in February and I’ve waited this long to debut it. As I said, I like sequins but this is the only sequined thing I have ever purchased. It also introduced me to the color orange after many years of banishing it from my wardrobe. A first on many counts, but how could anyone say no to this skirt? Exactly. You couldn’t. You already forgot that you didn’t win the giveaway, didn’t you? You were too mesmerized by the awesomeness of the orange sequined skirt. That’s how amazing it is.  

I couldn’t think of a more perfect outfit to mark day 100. Congrats to Meg. Thanks to all of you! And on to the next 100 outfits!

Skirt – Thrifted (French Connection)
Blue Sweater – Thrifted (Bebe)
White Blouse – Can’t remember, it’s old
Necklace – Work
Shoes – Work

Title courtesy of The Beatles – “All You Need Is Love”

p.s. MORE pictures behind the cut.

 

