Tags

, , , , , ,

Okay, this will be kind of short. If it’s as gorgeous where you live, as it is here, you probably aren’t reading this anyway. If you are looking for cuteness, though, go back one day. Yesterday was my 100th outfit post and it was far more stellar.

There are some days (okay, most days) when I am all about the blog. And then there are days like today, where I’m all about actual life, and the blog is kind of an afterthought. Those are good days to have, though. Sometimes. Someone once told me you can either be a good blogger or a “good liver”, and it’s nearly impossible to be both. Today I am a good liver.



Please excuse my forlorn looking toes. Nail polish touch-up is on the agenda for tomorrow, I promise.

Today’s outfit has several pros – it was super comfortable, fun colors and fun shoes. But there is one big glaring con in my book – it feels excruciatingly Colorado. All these layers and no real cohesiveness to them. Like, all that is missing is some Danskos and a North Face fleece. (Coloradoans pay a lot of money to look like they rolled out of a tent.)  It’s really not my thing, and it never will be.

There are times when my theater roots play into my wardrobe choices, and I feel as if I’m costuming for my plans that day. Today, I feel like the opposite happened. I knew this outfit felt a little bit square state for my likings, but I wore it anyway and the rest of the day just came to me accordingly. For starters, I got up early and was driving to my friend’s house when I spotted a giant hot air balloon. With a picture of the Rocky Mountains on it. And a big ass Colorado flag. Foo Fighters “Long Road To Ruin” playing in the background, because we love our outdated grunge rock round here.

Anyway, I was meeting my friend to try out a new church that we had never been to. I’m always game for things like this. I once covered religion when I worked as a reporter and as a result church-hopping is a favorite pastime of mine. This particular church turned out to be very hippyesque and very Colorado. As we sang “Accentuate the Positive” in place of traditional hymns, I couldn’t help but feel at home in my baggy layers and my crocheted vest. Afterward, my friend made me granola pancakes for breakfast. I shit you not.

I tease only in jest though. It was a good morning followed by a good afternoon. I banged out a solid 10k at a local track. The weather cooperated for once, and all was well in the world. Well, except for the fact that I don’t own a golden retriever to put a bandana on, or a John Denver album. Bummer.

Sweater – F21
Floral Tank – Wet Seal
Vest – Work
Necklace – Work
Shoes – Local shoe boutique

Title courtesy of Keane – “Is It Any Wonder?”

