Tags

, , , , , ,

So here is a story from my night: I was working in my store, minding my own business, when a manager from the Crocs kiosk came in to speak with me about a violation by one of my employees that she had taken offense to. As soon as she told me that, my heart sank. I love my employees a lot, but when it comes to instances like this, I can only imagine the worst. Being rude to customers, leaving the store unattended. Ritual sacrifices and things lit on fire.

As it turns out, her complaint was rather minor – a dress code violation. Since I wasn’t there, I can’t know the specifics, but apparently booty shorts were worn to work and the view offended her. Now, I quite like this Crocs girl based on what little interactions we’ve had. I especially like her, if she wants to be my new little snitch regarding bad employee behavior. I even agree with her that it was inappropriate and assured her that I would have a little chat with my staff about what is and is not appropriate to wear to work.

But I thought about it for awhile and something occurred to me – the girl works for Crocs, Crocs and she’s suddenly the fashion police? The hell? Homeslice, you sell overpriced ugly footwear. You sit upon a shrine of plastic shoes with holes in them. And little charms that you can put in the holes. And you see fit to tell me what’s offensive? How about I call your boss and tell him that I am offended by your everything.

So there’s no accounting for taste, but I am pretty fond of today’s outfit. I got this skirt in Santa Fe and was excited to wear it. I paid six dollars for it at some little boutique. And by boutique I mean one of those scary little mall shops that sells prom dresses and gold chains  with dollar signs on them in one space. Everything is on wire hangers and the only thing protecting your modest in the fitting rooms is a shower curtain doubling as a door. I think every mall has one of those. And I will always locate it and go in, because of finds like this.

That’s all I really have to say about the clothes, because I’m completely distracted by my hair here. It’s getting very unruly and starting to irritate me. Cut and color probably won’t happen until next Friday if I can wait that long. I am ready for a change, though. Ideas?

Skirt – Mall Boutique
Orange Textured Tank – Max Rave
Sweater – Thrifted
Belt – Thrifted
Necklace – Consignment Shop
Shoes – Wal-Mart

Title courtesy of Rick Ross – “The Boss”

