Tags

, , , , , ,

Annnnnd, the bottom drops out. Happy weekend to the few stragglers I’ve got hanging on. You guys are the bestest! I love you, man.

I am not better. If anything today brought a whole new cavalcade of miseries, but I’m tired of talking about it. So we’ll move on. It’s late. I worked all day and beyond. The mall was stupid. Notice, I say the mall was stupid and not work. That’s because, while I pride myself on running a drama-free operation, the other morons who work in my mall do not. Now and then, their nonsense creeps in and becomes my nonsense. It’s really fun being twenty-seven and still having to hold on to my high school defenses. Shy girl in the corner. Snappy dresser. Says nothing. Occasionally gets cheeky in the school paper. Amazing how little changes, no?

I almost undoubtedly would have worn this outfit in high school. While my peers were wearing hoodies and jeans, I was way into business casual. I thought if I looked important enough, people would leave me alone. It pretty much worked, although probably not for the reasons I think it did.

These shirts were not wildly popular at my store. It’s not unusual for me to be the one person to buy unpopular items. I don’t know if it means I have strange taste or just that I see more potential in the castaways. I totally dig the gathering in the waist and sleeves. It’s a nice feminine twist on on otherwise masculine shirt. I added the belt for extra cinch but it clung pretty nicely on its own. Last but not least – FUN SCARF ALERT. It’s a little hard to wear, but I am head over heels for this pretty thing.

I’ve noticed a the pattern in this week’s outfits – a complete lack of color. I’ve worn neutrals almost completely consistently. This is either a pendulum swing from the brightness of theme week or a reflection of how unvibrant I’ve felt. I will work on this. I may be a wallflower, but I’m not down with fading into the woodwork.

Pinstripe Button Down – Work
Cream Rouched Tunic – Work
Pants – Thrifted
Belt – Thrifted
Scarf – Rue 21
Shoes – Work

Title courtesy of Stroke 9 – “Little Black Backpack”

 

