Tags

, , , , ,

Greetings and Happy Monday! I don’t want to say too much, because there’s a nasty rumor going around about snow on Wednesday. BUT, it finally feels like spring to me. With summer hopefully, hopefully, hopefully not far behind.

I hung out with the 9-year-old kiddo that I mentor, as part of a volunteer program, the other day. It was finally nice enough to play outside, so I convinced her that we should head for the park. It so happens, that the park also had basketball court and I inquired if she might be down to shoot some hoops. This then necessitated the purchase of a basketball, as I didn’t own one. We ventured to the sports store, where we stared agog at an entire wall of basketballs to choose from. Why aren’t there any pink ones, The Kiddo wanted to know. And I was like, I know right? These sorts of ponderings on her part are precisely why we get along just fine.

Eventually we did manage to locate a pink basketball and the rest was a done deal. I hadn’t played any ball in many years, but when The Kiddo told me that she had never played Horse before, I was like um what?! Obviously, we rectified that right quick. And she schooled me. But anyway, the whole affair made me crave more adventure for this summer. I’ve got a whole list of things brewing that I’d like to attempt and I can’t wait.

 

Still a little under the weather, but on the mend thanks to antibiotics, I finally got my butt in gear and put together a real outfit. The color, it has returned! And with quite a vengeance, I must say.

I really love this little floral dress that cost me, in the neighborhood of $4. The floral print is just too fun and colorful to be believed, but what I really love about this dress is the shape. It’s a little bit mod. I would usually shy away from a longer shift dress like this, but not only does it fit pretty okay… it almost lends the illusion of some height to my short self. Add in the much adored orange cardigan and I am a spring explosion y’all. I love it!

I tried to keep it simple accessory-wise due to the high neckline. It really didn’t need a necklace, but I couldn’t resist this floral bracelet that I’ve had forever. And my flower shoes. Okay. I didn’t hold back nearly as much as I could of, but  whatever. The return of color is cause for celebration.

Dress – Thrifted
Cardigan – Thrifted (J Crew)
Belt – Stolen off a shirt
Bracelet – Target
Shoes – Local shoe boutique

Title courtesy of The Swimmers – “A Hundred Hearts”

