Tags

, , , , , ,

Hello Sunday!

I hope this Sunday finds you well. If not, this is a reminder from me to you – it’s okay to take a deep breath. I know this now, firsthand. Two weeks of stress from illness, injury and inclement weather found me pretty tightly wound by the end of this week. I ended up having to go back to the doctor for my ridiculous side pains which was just added nonsense. Turns out that coughing for a week and a half can pretty much wear out your ribs and the muscles that surround them. Which then leads to excruciating side pain. 

I was given painkillers and told to take it easy. Easier said than done for me and I had a small breakdown about this. Someone joked that I perhaps needed to be locked in a sterile padded room for the next two weeks, lest I end up with some other affliction before the big race day. I agreed, but only on the grounds that I needed to be locked up for my mental health less than my physical.

Still, as today wore on, I realized that the freaking out wasn’t worth it and I’m trying to just chill out a little. I got some reorganizing done around the house to make life easier and bought what was probably wayyy too many groceries. But I feel better now. I have a quick meeting at my store and then I think I am going to make the husband take me out for a casual date. Take some more deep breaths. It will all be okay.

For the record, today’s title song is the greatest song ever written. Ever. Or at the very least, the first truly great rap song that I ever memorized. It marks the beginnings of my gangsta aspirations and I can still recite it verbatim. If nothing else, it cheers me up today. Can I get some fries with the shake shake booty, if looks could kill you would be an uzi or a shot gun bang…

Speaking of being twelve. I feel a little childish in this crazy little printed dress. It was kind of a wild card, when I bought it for $2 at a thrift store. I knew I’d wear it maybe once, but I wasn’t thrilled about it. Still, for $2, I knew it would come in handy on a day like today when I wasn’t up to much and wasn’t going to be out and about. There are days when you want to bust out the fine China and other days, when you just want to use paper plates. This is a paper plate kind of dress, but now that it’s on, I quite like it. The print is less overwhelming than it was on the hanger. I would even go so far as to say it’s cute.

The husband actually likes it a lot. He says it reminds him of something to be worn in a retro commercial and deemed it my best thrifting score to date. I don’t know if I agree, but it will get me taken out for frozen yogurt. So I’ll roll with.

(Chocolate chip, honey dip, can I get a scoop? Baby take a ride in my coop…)

Dress – Thrifted
Blue Boy Tank – Work
Necklace – The Icing
Earrings – 5.7.9
Shoes – Charlotte Russe

Title courtesy of Salt ‘N’ Pepa – “Shoop”

