Tags

, , , ,

Good evening. This will be quick. Get in get out. That’s what she said. Etc.

It’s late. And although it wasn’t a terrible day, it did move a little slowly for my liking. This may or may not have had anything to do with that entire pot of coffee I consumed this morning. What can I say? I finally perfected the brew on some Ethiopian and it begged to be drank. Especially ill-advised given that I had opted to skip running. I was then a flurry of scheming and planning. I am still gunning for an ultimate summer. I am making lots of little lists of things I want to do and see and accomplish.

If anything good has come of my ongoing battle with illness/injury, it’s that I finally have serious designs on training for a half-marathon. This time last year before Bolder Boulder I was burnt out on running, but this year, having had to scale back my training? I feel so cheated. It makes me want to run more. Just keep running, Forrest Gump style. Out of spite.

Today’s outfit is pretty delightful to me. This fun skirt was a little hard to pair at first, because it has a very narrow waist. It didn’t want to compete with any manner of bulky fabric tucked into the top. Nor did it want to be weighted down by an untucked blouse. I played matchmaker with it a number of times but to no avail. The skirt was getting a little despondent. Threatening to start trolling Craigslist. Hang in there. I told it. You’re young. You’re having fun. The right top is out there for you. Don’t settle. You just have to keep believing. Then along came this sheer little lace top, and the rest was serendipity.

I especially like these two together because they complement one another’s old-fashioned qualities. I’m not sure what it is about embroidery but I love a good intricate pattern. Even a faux stenciled-on intricate pattern, as is the case with the skirt. If anything, I’m not sure the lace top really appreciates what the skirt brings to the relationship. It keeps demanding to be the center of attention.

While we’re meddling, I will say that I’m not taken with how closely the lace top resembles my skin tone. I don’t wear a lot of fleshy shades, because they wash me out. In photograph especially, it kind of disappears. I promise I’m not trying to run a nudie blog! But the skirt is happy, so who am I to stand in the way? What the heart wants what the heart wants.

Skirt – Thrifted
Lace top – Thrifted
Earrings – The Icing
Bracelet – The Icing
Shoes – Work

Title courtesy of Cold War Kids – “Hang Me Up To Dry” 

