Tags

, , , , , ,

Welcome to day three of THEME WEEK!

You know, theme week has reignited another love of mine – the music video. I don’t think I could ever get bored of watching music videos and I wish there were a channel that played them all day every day. I would watch that channel. (Insert clichè speech about how they never play the GD videos on the MTV anymore. Bah humbug.)

Still, it’s apropos that they should be a part of this theme week. Because very often, when I’m running to a good tune I’m also composing my own music video adventure in my head. In a music video you can wear whatever you want, without regard to what else is going on. Six-inch heels running across a pit of quicksand to kick the crap out of some villain? You got it. Nothing but a couple of eight carat diamond pasties while belly dancing in an abandoned mine shaft? Why the hell not? It’s no wonder I like music videos so much.

In other cases, a good music video can also clue you in to what the song is really about. Unless of course you are today’s playlist pick:

The Killers are one of my favorite bands of all time. I love everything they’ve ever done and they’re music has the ability to incite a lot of emotions in me. “Spaceman” is a track of pure joy. Every time it comes on, it’s worth kicking up the treadmill a whole mph and just busting out. But what is going on in this video? Beats the hell out of me. It’s a postapocalyptic Mardi Gras. I think.  It’s a baroque vaudeville fiesta on some rickety looking structure that I personally would be afraid to party on because I’m afraid of heights.

When dressing I tried to think about what I would wear to such an epic event. The answer was more along the lines of a yellow sequined wedding gown and an elephant mask. Unfortunately, here at the Closet365 project we have not the budget nor the production schedule of a music video. And there was also that whole issue of me having to wear it to work.

Sorry the pictures came out kind of dark. But space is dark. So we’ll just have to deal, I guess.

Anyway. I combined what elements I had on hand to make an outfit that was both spaceman and Killers inspired. I thought dark colors, and shimmery elements were the norm for intergalactic travel. And being the shameless Brandon Flowers fan that I am, I also know that eyeliner and feathers are très important. So I added them for good measure.

I dig the fact that I came out looking sort of like a futuristic flapper. It may not be a sequined yellow wedding gown and elephant mask but I’m hoping that backwards-walking caveman in drag will still save me a dance.

Black Top – Kohl’s
Navy Flyaway Cardigan – Work
Jeggings – 5.7.9
Necklace – 5.7.9
Headband – Work
Shoes – Work

Title courtesy of The Killers – “Spaceman”

