Tags

, , , , , , ,

Happy Friday everyone. My Friday is made all the more better by the fact that it’s still THEME WEEK. And while I know the most of you have already checked out and are off to Memorial Day adventures, the show must go on here at the blog. All week long, I’ve been preparing for my Monday 10k race by letting my running playlist be my guide. So far I’ve gotten dressed to some pretty fun tunes, but there are still plenty of good picks to be had on the playlist.

I’m getting really excited for my race. In a odd twist of fate, this morning I went to take pictures at the place where my running career began in earnest. My mom had shoulder surgery earlier this week and today was my day to help out around the ‘rents house. I stopped to take pictures at a park by their house. And as I stood there posing, my old junior high looming in the distance, I realized that I was standing in the very spot where they used to make us run. I shudder to think about those times. We’d run a mile. A very simple mile. But I was always one of the last to finish. There were those kids who could run the six-minute mile. And then there was me. The twelve-minute miler. The kid who could only go about a quarter mile before having to take a walk break. I hated gym class. I hated my classmates. I hated myself.

Years later in my twenties, when I tried to “take up” running for real, I returned to the same spot. It was the only place I knew to measure distance by. I learned to run my mile but I still had a love/hate relationship with running. It took me years of trial and error to be able to run without stopping and without tearing up various body parts. If you had told me back then, that I’d one day run races. And run them pretty fast. And be about to start training for a half marathon, I would have laughed at you. But it’s 27-year-old me that’s got the last laugh. I dedicate today’s song, to myself.

Gnarls Barkley’s “Run” is a pretty damn good pick for today. Gnarls Barkley is so wonderfully unique and awesome. So up my alley where musical tastes are concerned. But when they came out with this one, I was beyond sold. It’s just so easy to run, when the lyrics are literally telling you to. I love it. You may as well watch the whole video. The Justin Timberlake cameo is so worth it. But the real action (and my outfit inspiration) starts around the 2:05 mark. Just FYI.

 

When the video for “Run” was released, I remember hearing that it was banned because the crazy black and white hypnotic portion was actually causing people seizures. I’m not sure if that’s true or not, but it does a memorable video make. I knew right away that I wanted to play off the crazy motion and the black and white patterns.

I’m actually not wearing a dress, which confused a few people in real life today. I am wearing three separate pieces – a striped top, a striped skirt, and a stripey cardigan. When I thrifted the shirt and skirt at the same time, my mom asked if I planned on wearing them together. To which I exclaimed Oh heaven’s no. That’d be way too busy. Famous last words. Then again, I never initially plan to recreate flashy music video sequences into outfits. I’ll have to bear that in mind next time I’m putting the kibosh on outlandish suggestions.

Video aside though, I don’t even mind the mish-mash of stripes out of context.  Just in case it wasn’t busy enough, I added two belts, a hypnotic disc of a necklace and my go-go shades. I find it extremely chaotic. But chaotic in a good way. I think. Or perhaps my outfit interpretation was also literal. Like, OMG YOU GUYS. That crazy bitch is wearing stripes going in ten different directions and a giant necklace. WTF? RUN! 

Striped Shirt – Thrifted
Skirt – Thrifted (F21)
Cardigan – Thrifted (Charlotte Russe)
Shoes – Wal-Mart
Necklace – Gift
Belts – Wet Seal

Title courtesy of Gnarls Barkley – “Run”

