Tags

, , , , ,

Greetings. It is Sunday, which means race day is TOMORROW. I am pretty excited. I’m glad I have today off to prepare, but I don’t think it could go any slower. I’ve been trying to take it easy today and conserve all my energy for tomorrow, but it’s tough when it’s so nice out and I don’t have to be at work. I just want to run around like a crazy person. How about you guys? How did you spend the holiday weekend?

You know what? You aren’t even reading this part, are you? You saw the title and you went straight for the pictures. Didn’t you?

Indeed, as a final farewell to THEME WEEK! I decided to take the final countdown to race day and indulge the readers’ request. Only a couple of you shouted out, but it was unanimous, as I knew it would be. Which is why I purchased a dress in advance. Or just in case the i-Pod threw challenge my way. The challenge being:

Here is the actual remix that I run to, and that made the mix CD. But, the big shebang all happens in the original video, so…Yeah. Don’t ever tell me I don’t love you guys. I dig Lady Gaga as much as the next girl but I have had little to no desire to emulate her style. Still, you can’t really make a workout mix without Gaga. I knew I’d have to take a risk. I compromised, because although I can sit and watch “Bad Romance” about twenty times in a row, “Telephone” is just a smidgen more down to earth fashion-wise. Although not by much. Sigh. On with the show then.

Let’s face it. You will never catch me rolling my hair with Diet Coke cans, or sporting sunglasses made of smoldering cigarettes. What I did instead, was pick on inspiration in the form of the colors and shapes in the video. I love the cartoonish aspects of the video/music and that’s what I’m working with today.

I probably would have purchased this dress, regardless. I love yellow and I love the retro shape of it. But I’d be lying if I said I didn’t have “Telephone” in mind when I bought it. And still, I hoped against hope that it wouldn’t come up. Mostly because the rest of the styling alluded me. Gaga is all about big and bold, so I did my best. A thick belt helped cinch in the top-half, where the zipper makes it too big. The touch of blue peeking out up top is actually my sports bra. It was just the color I was after. So see, if wearing a bra out where people can see it isn’t pop-star behavior, I don’t know what else I have to do to prove myself.

My cute little bow came to me courtesy of a giveaway over at Stylish White Female. I’ve been looking for a good excuse to wear it and today was perfect, since I am not able to construct large headpiece bows out of my own hair. As far as Beyoncé goes, I think I still owe her a raincheck, but I did draw inspiration from her curly hair and bold lipstick.

In an ideal world I would have had more time and resources to put this together. However, I will say that doing this project has taught me the art of the subtle ode. I’ve learned that you can glean inspiration and still make something your own. Not to mention adapt crazy looks to something you would actually wear out in public. It’s sort of the unwritten manifesto behind this blog – to have fun with clothes without being completely ridiculous. I will take risks but everything still has to be functional as an every day outfit. I think today is a good example of that balance.

The next time you hear from me, I’ll be done racing and back in non-musical clothes. Sad day on both counts. But I hope everyone has a fantabulous Memorial day!

Dress – 5.7.9
Black Tank – F21
Blue Sports Bra – Target
Shoes – Thrifted
Hair Bow –
Moxie Hare Ware courtesy of Terra

Title courtesy of Lady Gaga and Beyoncé – “Telephone”

