Tags

, , , , , ,

Oh hello.

Does today’s title remind you of that old book “Go Ask Alice”? Did anyone else ever read that? I think  I used to read that book every summer. As picky as I can be in my reading habits, I am a sucker for tragic and trashy memoirs. If you know of any, please let me know. As summer sets in, I’m in a reading mood and I could totally go for something dramatic and awful. Are there bipolar drug addicts? Reformed hookers with OCD? Sign me up! It’s always been my dream to write a memoir, but my life is so uninteresting by comparison. So instead, I read and live vicariously.

Come to mention it, I could really use some escapism right now. I’m at bit of an impasse with work this week. I’m sure it will pass, but every so often I get fed up with feeling abused and undervalued. Not to mention STILL fighting with broken-ass technology. It’s not good for the blood pressure. I could really use a vacation and I fear there is nothing on the horizon.

Speaking of down the rabbit hole. Apropos of nothing, today’s outfit totally reminds me of “Alice in Wonderland.” I thrifted this cute blue dress, but then promptly found it rather boring. I had to do something to dress it up and this is what came about. It started with the large black belt, which was necessary to make it look less maternity-like. Rouched tank to fill in where the bust is slightly small. And once it clicked, I had fun with it.

I have to say I never really identified with the Alice character. But as much as I enjoyed dressing like her today, I suddenly found myself likening people in the mall to the various characters. The awful fat redheaded troll who works at Journey’s and hates me? Red Queen. My finicky and impatient Fed Ex guy? Totally The White Rabbit. And so on.

I’ll take my adventures where I can get them. If that’s in my closet for now, so be it.

Dress – Thrifted
Tank – Work
Shoes – Payless
Hair Bow – Claire’s
Belt  – Stolen off a shirt
Necklace – Work

Title courtesy of Jefferson Airplane – “White Rabbit”

