Tags

, , , , , ,

Greetings! It’s a different kind of week in the Jenny household. It’s Pseudo Single week. Mostly a misnomer, but I don’t know what else to call it. Pseudo Single Week is when the husband goes away on business and I am left to my own devices. Don’t worry. It’s not as dicey as it sounds. PSW is primarily a time for me to indulge all of the super-girly or otherwise annoying behaviors that I have abandoned in married life. All this week I will to get up at the break of dawn and grind the coffee as loudly as I please.  I will watch things on TV that are not on the Discovery Channel or about how things work. I plan to light a bunch of smelly candles and hog the bed and make the same thing for dinner, every. single. night.

Also on the agenda? Chick flicks. Today, despite all the haranguing of “Sex and The City 2” I went to go see it. I know. I caved. I wasn’t going to. I was totally cynical about it. In the first place, I was thoroughly disappointed by the last movie. And secondly, I’ve  been reading all the awful awful reviews. Still, it’s summer and it’s PSW. I couldn’t help but think (Oh God, a Carrie-esque sentence even! Horrors!) about the early 2000s. Me in my parental basement bedroom single lady pad, wasting away summer evenings, in the dark, watching episodes on DVD after DVD. I laughed, I cried. I rallied for my favorite couples. I formed tight bonds with imaginary ladies. And I loved it. Today, my nostalgia weakened me and I headed off to the theatre.

And you know what? I enjoyed it. Completely in spite of myself. Sure there were a number of cringe-worthy moments. (Karaoke? WTF?) but otherwise, I got totally suckered. Jenny Cynicism: 0. Ooh Shiny Things!: 1.

To my credit, I did not get all bedecked in some cheesy chintzy outfit to go see the movie. (I got dressed long before I decided to go.) And actually, had I seen the movie prior to choosing today’s outfit, I might have felt a little more inspired. I chose my outfit purely with regard to the rules of blackout week. No black here. Just lots of bright color. If anything, I was a little bummed that I was able to comfortably wear so many layers. It’s my day off, and I was hoping for a real scorcher to lay out by the pool and read my trashy Marilyn Monroe biography for book club. (So salacious, yet sooo good.) Alas, I’m not going to mourn another in for the orange cashmire cardigan.

But definitely color me inspired for future outfits. I’m not going to wax poetic too much, but I will say that I really enjoyed gauging the difference in my own reactions to SATC so many years after I watched the series. One of the things that stood out to me today is that, while I used to admire the costumes on the show from an aesthetic perspective, I thought it was completely ridiculous that the women would actually wear these things out in public. In 2010, the year of the project/blog, I now have nothing but mad respect for women willing to don outrageous outfits whenever and wherever they please. Cheers, ladies.

Collared shirt – Thrifted (Gap)
Cardigan – Thrifted (J. Crew)
Skirt – Max Rave
Pink Ribbed Tank – F21
Necklace – The Icing
Shoes – Wal-Mart

Title courtesy of Fergie – “Labels or Love”

