Tags

, , , ,

Well, hello. The good news is that I had a much better day today. The bad news is that it was not as productive as I’d hoped. I personally am not complaining. Tomorrow I can go back to broken computer hell. But heavenly days like today, are just meant to be lived.

Have I mentioned how in love with summer I am? Most years, I have a love/hate relationship with the season. I love it because it’s not winter, but then come to hate it for its abysmal heat and lazy-inducing qualities. Not this year, though. I am soaking up every second. I get up every morning with the early sunrises. I feel like I have more hours in a day. I’m relishing the heat and the greenery. I’m eating summer produce like it’s going out of style. Unfortunately, I haven’t yet indulged the most quintessential activities. There has been no camping, boating or poolside lounging. But there is still time.

For today, I enjoyed today dog-walking (I don’t have any of my own, but I’m helping out The Mom, who just had shoulder surgery. It’s fun for me, since I only have cats.) Driving around with the windows down and the music up. Getting coffee and drinking it outdoors. Cleaning the house with all the windows and doors open. Making summer mix CDs. (Check out today’s music link. It’s a lovely rendition.) The Husband returned from his trip and we headed for the movies and the outdoor shopping mall. We dined outdoors. It was just a completely relaxed and embraceable day.

Another thing I’m usually not keen on is summer clothing. For all my loathing of winter, I can at least get behind the coverage that layers provide. All that heat just doesn’t accommodate my desire to be swaddled and as a result I am usually uncomfortable in my summer duds.

But for today, the weather was quite lovely for a summer look that was neither suffocating nor skimpy. While cleaning house and running silly errands I wore just the dress and felt quite Studio 54. However, I eventually added the additional layer of the tank for public decency.

Still loving Blackout Week. How can you not love color in the summer? Try me again in the fall, when I am drawn to darks, but for now, I’m taking in all the color the days will allow.

Floral Tank – Work
Dress – F21
Shoes – Wet Seal
Necklace – Work

 Title courtesy of Melody Gardot – “Over The Rainbow” (Cover)

