Tags

, , , , ,

Hi everyone! I hope you’re enjoying your weekend. I had another not-so-great day but I’m just hanging in. What else can you do?

Today did have one redeeming quality, which is that, it marks the very beginning of half-marathon training. I logged my first run on the training program and it felt good to be back at it. I was beat tired from work, but it still did my mind good to just pound my feet and tune out. I missed that for the last two weeks I took off. It may take me a few more runs to get back in the zone. But here’s hoping I make a quick return to sanity along with it.

Today’s outfit is casual, but also fun. And might I also add, still not containing a scrap of black. Even though the weather today called for dark and gloomy, I found away around it by utilizing some muted shades. One more day of Blackout Week, but I’m not even remotely sick of wearing colors. That’s one way the project has changed me. I used to be a black addict. Now I hardly miss it.

These pants are pretty rad. I found them at a strange little store, on the last thrifting adventure with The Mom. Though we may be in the era of the skinny jean, I still love pants with some flare. And flare do they ever. These pants have flare to spare. The super wide legs are what drew me to them in the first place, but I also adore the gigantor sash that came with.  I didn’t even know what to do with the impressive length of this thing. It hung so low as to be in the way, so I tied in a bow. Next time, I’m might experiment with throwing it over my shoulder like a continental soldier. The sash will also come in handy should I ever need to repel out of tall building or tie a mattress to the top of my car.

Because the pants are rather spectacular, I felt as if I should keep the rest simple. A plain purple tee complimented the greyish purple color of the pants. I also had fun adding more bold accessories to balance out the Ultimate Sash Bow. The whole effect is rather simple but I felt sophisticated enough for a working Saturday. All’s well that ends well.

Shirt – Max Rave
Pants – Thrifted
Shoes – Local shoe boutique
Necklace – Wet Seal
Bracelet – Target
Earrings – Work

Title courtesy of Dr. Dre and Snoop Dogg – “Still D.R.E.”

