Tags

, , , ,

Hello and welcome to Wednesday. Is it really only Wednesday. Oh Lord, help me.

No. Okay. I am off tomorrow, finally. Just still trying to unwind this large knot of stress and distraction that seems to have built up over the past few weeks. With the weight of inventory off my shoulders the process can, at last, begin. Today, having put in umpteen hours at work already, I left a tad early. I was able to lay out by the pool and read my trashy book and all is starting to feel right in the world.

Traditionally, after summer inventory I schedule a massage. It’s my annual treat and I look forward to it muchly. I have yet to schedule the thing, but it is definitely forthcoming. I think, for tomorrow we are actually going to finally hit the lake. I am very excited about this, since June is half gone and I still have yet to climb aboard our boat. That’s just wrong. 

Today’s outfit is like a big happy band-aid for all that ails me. An easy fix? Totally. But did it get the job done? Absolutely.

What’s not to love about a fantastic skirt and a big old belt? I say nothing. Which is why, in spite of how Godawful tired I was this morning, regardless of my mile-long to-do list, inventory anxiety be damned, (without heed for this run-on sentence from hell) I left the house with a spring in my step and a smile on my face.

There’s something about dressing up mid-week. Especially around here and in the summer, when everyone is super casual. So few people go for putting on the ritz, but those of us that do are like a secret society. This morning, while gassing up my car at a quarter to nine, I stood next to a woman in the most lovely printed wrap dress. We smiled at each other like co-conspirators, in on the joke. It was a vanity party and we were both invited!  Still, I’ll be the first person to admit it. After a rough week, feeling pretty feels pretty good to me.

Blouse – Can’t Remember
Skirt – Thrifted
Shoes – Work
Belt – Work

Title courtesy of Carly Simon – “You’re So Vain”

