Tags

, , , ,

Wow. I seriously had the most uneventful Saturday, ever. Like, so uneventful that I have nothing to write about. I didn’t even have a title song, it was so uneventful. I just chose Death Cab because it was playing when I turned on my car to drive home from work.

I thought it noteworthy, because every other night that I close the store and drive home, I hear another song. The same song, every night at 9:30 without fail. And while “Free Without You” by I Hate Kate is a pretty good song. Cathartic even, after a long closing shift. I just find it incredibly lame that the radio station can’t mix it up the least bit. My excitement however, was short lived. One song later? You guessed it. “Free Without You” by I Hate Kate. I guess I just got out of work one song sooner than usual. “Free Without You” was followed by Muse’s “Uprising” just as it was the night before that. And the night before that. And the night before that…

What I want to know is, won’t someone think of the night commuter? Because really, the only thing worse than leaving work at 9:30 on a Saturday night? Is leaving work at 9:30 at night and having to listen to the same music every. single. time. I supposed I could just change the station, but that’s entirely beside the point.

So this is a momentous occasion.Which is that, I have had this dress for two years and this is the first time I’ve worn it! When I first bought this ever so lovely frock, it was about one size too big. It was so so pretty and the only one in any size. I thought it would shrink. It didn’t. Then I changed my diet/exercise habits and I shrank. I tried to get the dress on board with this game. I washed it in the hottest water and dried the holy hell out of it. Even then, the dress was then about three sizes too large.

I knew I should give it away but I was too devastated. I told myself it was roomy enough to wear as a maternity dress some day, and saved it. Nobody hold your breath. I am hardly in a family way, for the time being. Procreation is something that I’m putting off. The story I’m sticking to is that I’m not ready for children until I’ve traveled to Europe and run a full marathon. (It’s my estimation that once I’ve done both of these things, then I will be mentally and physically ready for child-rearing.) I am on my way to the latter, being that I’m training for a half-marathon. But last I checked, there are no stamps in my passport. In truth, I don’t even have a passport.

Still, it was getting depressing watching the dress just hang out for all these years. It occurred to me that through the magic that is belting, the dress might just stand a chance at making my current wardrobe. Lo and behold, this flower belt came to the rescue. Not only does the dress pass for a fitted garment, but it also looks pretty cute, if I do say so myself. Not as cute as say, an infant baby. But if I’ve learned anything from this dress today, it’s that some things are worth waiting for.

Dress – Ross
Necklace – Wet Seal
Belt – 5.7.9
Shoes – Thrifted

Title courtesy of Death Cab For Cutie – “Soul Meets Body”

