Tags

, , , , ,

It’s Thursday! And it’s theme week! Continuing on with Jenny Blockbuster Week, or whatever we’re calling it. All week I’ve been using my favorite movies as inspiration to create outfits.

Today’s movie is a bit of a departure from the previous picks but by far one of my favorite movies. It’s almost untouchable as movies go, I think. That movie is:

“The Hours” is such a gorgeous movie. It’s not lighthearted by any means. It’s quite dark, but interspersed with moments of such absolute beauty. I have to be careful about what kind of mood I’m in when I watch it. Because depending on my mental state, it’s either comfortably melancholy or intensely depressing. But it’s still an incredible piece, no matter what. The score, the colors, the acting. All of it superb. If I turn it on, I will do nothing else for the duration of the movie. Just sit there completely enraptured.

Fortunately or unfortunately, “The Hours” is also another period piece. Encompassing multiple decades, it’s hard to know which way to go. Today, I’d say I’m leaning more towards Virginia Woolf. Although, I can’t even say that’s what I was going for.

Mostly, I just took the overall classic look of the movie and threw some pieces together. Eccentric characters call for eccentric dressing. Sans prosthetic nose, I’d say this outfit is pretty eclectic and then some. More than anything, I knew this would be a valid excuse to once again sport my fantastic hat. Since we last parted ways, I’ve daydreamed about wearing it again. Sadly, in a modern time, I don’t get many opportunities where it would be appropriate.

And I had all but forgotten about this old skirt of mine. The sequins always struck me as being a bit on the Western side, but upon closer examination, the print is really very Art Deco, and thus sort of cajoled its way into this look. This is actually a very comfortable outfit. Admittedly, I changed out of it before The Husband and I headed off to the city for an evening on the town. The husband offered that while it was a cute outfit, it was more suited to the derby than a Rockies game. Reluctantly, I concurred.

I’m also pretty sure you can’t smoke your own hand-rolled cigarettes in Denver proper because of the smoking ban, and what-not. Oh, modern life!

Hat – Hats in the Belfry
Skirt – Wet Seal
Top – Thrifted
Earrings – 5.7.9
Shoes – Payless

Title courtesy of Regina Spektor- “Paris”

