Tags

, , , , ,

Happy 4th of July everyone! I hope the holiday finds all of my fellow USA peeps, well and celebrating.

I don’t really have any big plans myself. I got up this morning and ran a local Firecracker 5k. You can read about that over here. Otherwise, it’s turning out to be a pretty quiet holiday. It’s also been cold and rainy on and off throughout the day. I’m opting not to attend the local fireworks celebration this year. Every year, it becomes more and more of an obnoxious, drunken and crowded mess. Which is not to say that I wasn’t all about that, at one time in my life. But you get to a certain age where that kind of thing is no longer cute. These days you’ll find me at home enjoying a nice pops concert on the television. In bed by ten and calling the cops on any neighbor hooligan who so much as sets of a smoke bomb in my vicinity.

Okay not really. I couldn’t care less who sets what on fire. I just don’t like people stepping on my toes and yelling “Fuck yeah!” after every minor explosion. I think the actual plan is to hike somewhere out on the outskirts of town and take in the show from up in the foothills. A nice compromise, if nothing else.

So, I get into this argument with myself every year on the 4th. In which I remind myself that I am not five, and thus do not need to get decked out in Red, White and Blue. But then I go and do it anyway. I’m not super duper patriotic. But really, who doesn’t love the 4th of July? It’s a uniquely American holiday. And it comes with a color scheme! So I think you know where that leaves me.



Every year finds me in some new and fanciful variation of the good old red, white and blue. Prior to this project, the 4th was always one of the few times of year that I saw fit to buy a new outfit. Last year’s dress would have easily made the blog, but it shrunk into a halter top upon first wash and I sold it to Plato’s. I hope whomever bought it is giving it a good run this year.

And in turn, I thrifted this pretty blue and white number, which I like quite a lot. I debated sticking to plain white accessories, but ultimately I really do like red and blue together.  It’s an underated color combo. They don’t call them complimentary colors for nothing.

So anyway. Today I am proud to be an American and live in a country that gives me freedom of speech, so that I can have this ridiculous blog and wear all these outfits and take stupid pictures of myself in a field like Wheeeee look at me, I’m standing in amber waves of grain! Some people probably use the First Amendment for actually important things. But you know, to each his own! This is America! Now somebody get me a sparkler…

 Dress – Thrifted
Red Rouched Tank – Work
Belt – Work
Sh0es – Work
Necklace – Thrifted

 Title courtesy of The Wallflowers – “One Headlight”

