Tags

, , , ,

So amidst the chaos that was theme week and the holiday, we missed a very important milestone a couple of days ago. Tsk, tsk.

THE PROJECT IS HALFWAY FINISHED!

That’s right. Half a year. Six months, 182+ days in and 182+ outfits later, I am actually now over half done with my challenge and less than six months away from the finish line. Can you even believe how quickly six months flew by?! I cannot, for the life of me, fathom that I’ve been doing this for six months already. When I started out, I knew that I would most likely finish the project because I am wickedly stubborn. But I wasn’t 100% sure that I’d be able to rise to the challenge of daily outfit posts/pictures/blogging.  But, here I am. Still getting dressed up, still hauling my tripod around, still posting nonsense day in and day out. It just kind of feels like my life now. And I maintain that I am really having the best kind of year, because of it.

As luck would have it, I got to meet not one but TWO readers/fellow bloggers today! Jen and Amber, so pleased to run into you both. What are the odds? It totally made my otherwise insane day.



This would be my belated celebratory get-up. I feel like six months of consecutive outfitting, deserves a nice little party dress. This is just another one of my thrifted numbers. I thought it was too adorable to pass up, even though I rarely if ever have the appropriate opportunities to wear a party dress. But oh wait! It’s me and I wear whatever I want, whenever I want, without regard for practicality or what other people are going to think. That was one of the resolutions I outlined at the onset of the project and I’m pleased to report that I’ve gotten better and better about it.

And anyway, another thing that blogging has helped me with is getting over my fear of wasting outfits for fear that “no one will see.” I still save my “better” outfits for days when I’ll be out and about. Or at the very least, working, where I know the outfit will get maximum exposure. However, I no longer talk myself out of wearing something for this reason. Who needs a real life audience when you have the internet? This blog has more subscribers than I had guests at my wedding, so really, it’s not as if I’m sitting at home on my couch with my cats in full regalia. Okay, actually, I probably am. But you get what I’m saying.

The blog IS the party now. I get dressed up for you guys! And maybe sometimes the hot guy who works at the bank. The one with the earrings who is most likely gay. But who always has my deposit slips ready without me having to ask. Yeah. Him too.

Dress – Thrifted (Charlotte Russe)
Necklace – Work
Flower Hairpin – Claire’s
Shoes – Work

Title courtesy of The Killers – “A Dustland Fairytale”

