Tags

, , , , , ,

Happy Thursday! I’m sad that we’re already a week over with July. I feel like this summer is just slipping between my fingers like sand. It’s crazy. Admittedly, I had another lazy day today and I’m just trying to savor the sloth while I still can. My next days off are Sunday/Monday but only to be followed by about a 10-day stretch while one of my co-workers is on vacation. It’s going to get a little hectic.

Already I’m seeing small signs of the Back To School push starting up. This gives me heart palpitations. Let it be known that I hate. Hate. HATE Back To School season. It’s worse than Christmas if you work in a store that sells junior apparel of any sort. What with the massive amounts of new stock, heavy business traffic with lots of meddling parental shoppers. Ew. I’m getting stressed just thinking about it.

So for today, I’m just pretending like it all doesn’t exist. I got up this morning, ran my prescribed five miles, went back to bed for an hour, did some grocery shopping and got sucked into a TV marathon. I’m too embarrassed to tell you what awful show occupied three hours of my life today. Okay, it rhymes with “Knife Stop.” That’s all I’m going to tell you.

Honestly, this was one of those instances where the outfit was just a lot cuter in person. I enlisted the help of The Husband to take pictures today, but we were rushing due to the rain and I think some of the magic got lost in translation.

I thought this combo was awfully pretty and feminine from the get-go. Muted colors, but with hints of pale pink and a nice floral print. I finally (sort of) mastered that fun side braid thing that everybody but me seemed to be able to do. I felt very proud of this fact as I am helpless with my own hair. Most of the time I’m better off just not messing with it.

You may have noticed I’m doing a lot of remixing of old items lately. It’s all I can do since I haven’t been shopping much. Not for lack of trying. I’ve hit up a number of stores, new and thrift, recently but have come back empty-handed on all fronts. I don’t know. I think we’re between seasons right now (in shopping land) and nothing seems to really jump out at me. And then there was this disturbing moment I today, when I looked at a summer dress and wondered how I might winterize it in a few short months. But we’re not thinking about that right now.

Skirt – Thrifted (Dress Barn)
Pink Ribbed Tank – Work
Grey Scoop Neck Tank – Work
Necklace – Wet Seal
Shoes – Thrifted (Candies)

Title courtesy of Rise Against – “Swing Life Away”

