Tags

, , , ,

Holy God. Is it hot where you guys live right now? Because it’s hot as hell here. This morning as I attempted to stave off the heat with an early run, I realized that not even hitting the streets at 8:00 A.M. was going to save me. I feel like we’ve reached the pinnacle of summer, at long last. I love it.

Days like today make me miss Texas. When I first arrived on the scene down South, people would learn where I was from and then get a strange crooked grin before inquiring whether it was “hot enough” for me. And then they’d laugh, as if no one had ever asked me this before and they were terribly clever. (Not unlike the laugh people have after they adopt a Forrest Gump voice and call me Jen-Nay.)

But the answer was yes, yes it was finally hot enough for me. I love me some sweltering heat. I even love humidity, which we get none of here in the great white north. Still, I’ll take what I can get.

The travesty was that I was trapped indoors for the remainder of the day. The upside is that when confined to air-conditioned spaces for long periods of time, you can wear pretty much whatever you want. Which is good, because what I wanted to wear was my black skirt.

This outfit looked so good in my head, but left something to be desired in the execution. I feel like something got lost in the accessorizing, or the hairstyling. I don’t even know. Thoughts? I like it just alright though. And not enough to sweat it. I did enough of that taking these pictures. I mean, Mary Mother of God, it was hot.

Apparently the heat also makes me religious.

Striped Top – 5.7.9
Skirt – F21
Necklaces – Wet Seal
Shoes – Work

Title courtesy of Ludacris – “Southern Hospitality”

