Tags

, , , , ,

For reasons unbeknownst to me, I woke up with Michael Jackson’s “Beat It” stuck in my head. I wouldn’t ordinarily say this was a good thing, but today I think it was. If it must be MJ in the morning, “Beat It” is far superior to anything post-“Heal The World.” I have ooky memories of my elementary school guidance counselor playing an acoustic version of that song on video announcements during Earth Week. (You know it’s bad when a third-grader thinks it too sappy.) “Beat It” conjures something far more A-Game.

For me, I think it’s a sign of my return to being on the up and up. I finally got resolution, yesterday, to some things that had been weighing on me for almost a month. Sorry, that’s vague. It was nothing bad nor good. Just some loose ends that persisted in being just that. It was annoying the crap out of me, but now things have an outcome and I can move on. Go back to being my beady-eyed little ray of sunshine self. Or something.

 

Further proof of my lightened load, I am all about the colors today! I really wish I could wear this dress more. I told you when I wore it last that I thrifted it and then realized it was handmade. That discovery has made me love it just a little extra. I’m convinced that it was made for me, even though  it wasn’t. Okay, it was made for someone like me. Someone who didn’t have the good sense to appreciate it and dumped it off, so that I could find it. There is good Karma to be found in rescued things, I believe.

This scarf is another item that doesn’t get nearly enough love. It’s probably my favorite scarf by virtue of its color. I don’t think I would normally accentuate an already colorful dress with another burst of color. Furthermore, I thought the belted scarf thing might be over, or at least a thing of the fall. But I’m in a good mood so why the hell not? I’m going to ride this rainbow for as long as it will have me.

 Dress – Thrifted
Scarf – Vanity
Belt – Thrifted
Earrings – 5.7.9
Shoes – Work

Title courtesy of Michael Jackson – “Beat It”

p.s. I have a guest post up, today at Meals & Moves! It’s a bit of a departure from what you’re used to seeing here, but if you just can’t get enough Jenny, today is your lucky day. Check it out, along with Janetha’s awesome blog, here. And mad thanks to Janetha for inviting me to post!

