Tags

, , , , ,

Our title song has become a staple on my morning runs lately. I’m not sure why it always plays, out of the 700 songs on my i-pod but I’m okay with it. It conjures many happy summer memories. Now if only I could understand half of what’s being said.

Among the many things I’m excited about, now that I have the Blackberry, is that I downloaded some Spanish lesson apps. I only speak a smidgen of retail Spanish. ¿Cuánto pantalones negro? But more and more it seems like it would be beneficial to learn even some conversational Spanish and be better able to communicate with my customers.

I’m actually planning on taking a beginner course this fall. I’m excited because it will be my first foreign language class. In high school I managed to skirt that requirement after finding a loophole to only take art classes. But looking back that didn’t end up serving me very well. Even if I had taken a langauge, I would have taken French or the even more obscure Chinese class at my high school, simply to seem chic. When we moved to Texas I thought I might teach myself by reading People Magazine en Español and watching lots of Univison. That also didn’t work. Although I do still enjoy a good telanovela now and then.

These are not great pictures. We all know I’m no photographer, but after a long day at work I’m also no subject. Long hours leave me fidgety and a little rough-looking. The majority of today’s pics actually found me looking like a creepy little possessed doll. Oh well. I think we may need to amend the blog rules a bit. To: 365 outfits, no repeats, and stop wearing that same damn turquoise necklace. I feel like I wear it a lot. I try to curb my usage, but I just love it so much. It’s a nice showy little piece, which automatically brightens and elevates any outfit. Such a thing would be great, if I were going to luncheons with people I see once or twice a year and wanted to impress them with my supposed accessorizing skills. Not so much, when you post a picture of your clothes every day, and you don’t want to seem like a one trick pony.

I just couldn’t help myself today, though. This little dress could have easily gone in a casual direction. The grey really lends itself to numerous possibilities. And that would have been fine. However, I was in a dressy mood. I get in those. I think it’s actually my default. While some people prefer their comfy casuals, I am not at my happiest unless I’m rocking a skirt of some sort, some heavy jewelry and a pair of heels. It’s how I came out of the womb. Okay, maybe not. I can’t vouch for myself in the early years, but if I had to wager a guess, I bet my first thought when I entered this world was – Goddamn it’s bright in here. Somebody get me a dress. It’s just how I do.

So that’s my really long and roundabout way of saying that I added a collared shirt and a necklace. And I like my dress. And it was a good day. Buena noche!

Black Button Down – Ross
Dress – 5.7.9
Necklace – Wet Seal
Shoes – Ross
Owl Earrings – 5.7.9

Title courtesy of Beck – “Que Onda Guero”

