Oh guys. Thanks for all of your input on yesterday’s post. I feel bad sometimes when all I can talk about is work, but if I get nothing else from my job besides the war stories, so be it. And when I’m fully immersed job-wise, like I am right now, well…that’s just the way the cookie crumbles.

True story: when I was little I went through a phase where I desperately wanted to be Italian. To my knowledge I don’t have a lick of Italian heritage. It was just that I was doing a report on Italy and apparently also just starved for some sort of heritage (I also once asked my mom if it would be possible for me to get plastic surgery so I could have Asian eyes.) But anyway, in my effort to cultivate my new cultural identity I affected an accent and started chiding my friends, “That’s the way the Leaning Tower of Pisa leans” (Or really, that’s-a the way-a the Leaning Tower of Pisa a-leans-a…)

They would just give me that annoyed look that said stop trying to make fetch happen. I get that look a lot actually. Other Jenny-isms that have failed to catch on: reversing the letters in curse words to make new curse words (CARP is my favorite!) Giving the cats ghetto names and randomly quoting from John Leguizamo’s “The Pest.” Which no one has ever seen beside myself and my younger brother, I think. You would think I would just give up after so many unsuccessful attempts. But I remain convinced that I’m just ahead of the curve on things. Someday people are going to see the light. They really are.

 Fashion is another arena where I sometimes end up the odd man out. Most of my friends and family don’t really care about fashion. And that’s fine. To each his own. But I do often feel like a sore thumb in my heels and skirts and jewelry, while everybody else is wearing jeans and a t-shirt. 

This YouTube parody, “Colorado Girls” has been making the rounds on Facebook. I have to say I find it so depressing because it’s so true. I’ve actually toyed with the idea of a Make Colorado Cute theme week using our regional fashion (or lack thereof) as inspiration. The problem is that a) I don’t own any fleece. Or Danskos. Nor Tevas. I barely own a passable winter coat. So I’d have to thrift or borrow. and b) You can’t really make those things cute.

I just sort of do my own thing and that’s that. Today, I think, I blend pretty well, though. I was, in fact, feeling casual for a day off. I’ve got a little bit of boho going on with my knit vest and wooden beads and what-not. But otherwise, I look pretty mainstream. These shorts, are not denim but they almost pass. If it weren’t for the accessories I’d be a little bored with myself. Psssh. That is until I come up with my latest and greatest new catchphrase. I’m thinking bring back “danke schoen” into polite expression. Who’s with me?

Blouse – Work
Knit Vest – Charlotte Russe
Beaded Necklace – The Icing
Bird Necklace – Work
Shoes – Thrifted (Candie’s)

Title courtesy of Bright Eyes – “Easy Lucky Free”

