Tags

, , , ,

Happy Friday! There has been a little drama in my neck of the woods. First a sick kitty and then an ailing Jenny. The cat has been vetted up and I went to the chiropractor this morning after my left hip decided to throw a hissy fit. Completely apropos of nothing, it started hurting Wednesday and became intolerably agitated during my Thursday morning run. I’m now walking with a limp (swagger!) and have been ordered to “take it easy” for a few days. Joy. My favorite.

In light of all that, I went for a very easy look today. I’m not even wearing any heavy jewelry, lest I throw any wrenches in my alignment. I’m supposed to be better enough to run by Sunday (Monday at the latest) and if anything gets in the way of that… God help us all.

Not a lot to say about this. I like it though. All thrifted. All comfortable. All good in the hood.

Nice MySpace angle. Ha.

But hey, here are some Friend Friday questions courtesy of Katy at Modly Chic. I thought it would be fun to start doing these. You can check out Katy’s blog and the rest of the Q&A action, here. My answers as follows. Enjoy!

1. Do you think privacy is something we should worry about as bloggers?

Well, yes. Of course, privacy on the internet is important. However, simply by being a blogger you’re agreeing to give up a degree of privacy. In fashion blogging especially because you’re posting pictures of yourself. But honestly, it’s not something I worry about too much. I am careful and calculated about what I choose to post about. I’ve been on the internet long enough to know where my boundaries are. What to do and what not to do. I’ve never had any real problems with a breach of my privacy. Knock on wood.

2. Do you use your real name or a pen name? What was behind that decision?

I use my real first name. I never really thought about doing otherwise. My blog is part of who I am and I don’t have a problem with my name being attached to it. Heck, I’m kind of proud of it! I keep my last name private, and I think that suffices. There are about fifty million Jennys in the world. So if anyone really wanted to track me down, good luck with that!

3. How much personal information do you reveal about your life beyond the blog?

I reveal a fair amount about myself. I think fashion blogs are kind of boring, if you don’t know anything about the person behind them. And I enjoy writing about my life for others. I’m a pretty open book and I’m comfortable with being fodder for my own jokes. One interesting thing about me, (I guess) is that I’m painfully shy and horribly socially awkward in real life. Writing is really my best means of communicating who I am to the world, so I actually take advantage of the blogging platform to do so.

That said, I’m also very aware that anything I’m revealing could be seen by anyone at any time. My rule of thumb, is don’t write anything that you wouldn’t want your grandma, your boss, baby Jesus, or the people you went to junior high with to know about. I think this works out pretty well.

4. What will you never reveal?

I draw the line at blogging about other people in my life. I’ll make fun of myself until the fat lady sings, but I am careful what I say about others. As much as I love anecdotes and good-natured jokes at the expense of others, I would never outright dish on someone I know. Plus, half of them refuse to admit they’re reading, so if I did and they read it and feelings got hurt, that would be awkward. This is one capacity in which my narcissism really serves me. I am content to talk about myself ad nauseam and no one else has to get dragged into the fray.  Win win!

5. As bloggers, we have to an extent made ourselves ‘public’ figures. But still there are things that are intimate to each of us that does not need to be known by anyone that stumbles across our blog. How do you determine what is appropriate for public consumption and what is private to you?

Sort of what I just said above. I stick to safe subjects and never reveal anything that I’m not 100% comfortable telling the whole world about myself. It seems to work pretty okay.

Title courtesy of Skee-Lo – “I Wish”

