Tags

, , ,

Hello out there. Thank you guys for indulging my wordless whims, yesterday. It was a needed break. The truth is that I’ve still been pretty consumed with HipGate and not doing so spectacularly. I’m still in pain and still can’t run. I’m depressed as all get out and extremely stressed. All the gory details are over yonder, so I won’t bore you.

I basically have two hobbies in my life this year. One is running and the other one is this blog. In the absence of one, I guess it’s a mixed blessing that I have more time to devote to the blog. Even if I haven’t felt much like getting dressed, I have enjoyed the extra time for picture-taking.

I am starting to think about springing for a new camera. It’s no secret that I use an uber crappy little point and shoot for my daily pictures. It’s perfectly suited to my poor photo-taking skillz, but I know the visual aspects of the blog could be significantly improved if I just put a little time and money into an upgrade. Something to think about for future blogging endeavors, anyway. I am due for my work bonus check in a month or so. Although buying a new camera would derail my grand plans to party bus it down to Denver, to the new two-story Forever 21. Where I would then proceed to pop a rubber band on my new fall wardrobe. Mmmhmm.

 

So this is one of the more interesting things that’s happened to me in my blogging adventures: Today, I ventured to this little spot down the block to take pictures. Now, I’ve explained before how I’m pretty self-conscious about taking pictures in front of spectators – I avoid it at all costs. Still, I refuse to be confined to my balcony and office for pictures, so I often have to suck it up and deal. I also lie through my teeth, should anybody ask what I’m up to (my usual cover story is self-portrait for photography class.) I try to be pretty stealth, but I still encounter a lot of curious people, who like to stare at me surreptitiously as they pass. It happens and I’m (sort of) used to it.

But today, I actually got approached by a fellow, who was toting a camera. Turns out he was trying to take pictures for a local contest and needed to take pictures of someone who was also taking pictures. I thought this was kind of neat, so I let him take pictures of me, taking pictures of…me. (How meta! I love it.)  It was surprisingly not awkward. Having another person on scene made me feel like less of a complete weirdo taking pictures of myself. Even more shockingly, I told the truth about the purpose of my photo shoot. One small step for the blog, one giant leap for Jennykind.

That was really the most exciting thing that happened to me all day. I’ve been off work, resting up before what is sure to be a madcap back-to-school weekend. I probably wouldn’t have even bothered getting dressed if it weren’t for the blog, but I’m glad I did. This is a fun outfit, with many Jenny elements – b&w color scheme, whimsically oversized something or other, blingy earrings, etc. and it brightened my mood just a bit. Even if all I do this evening is sit at home eating dinner off my coffee table and watching “Entourage” at least I’ll feel slightly more fabulous.

Jacket – Thrifted (H&M)
Shorts – Work
Black Tank – Work
White Tank – F21
Necklace – Work
Shoes – Thrifted (Candie’s)

Title courtesy of Mike Posner – “Cooler Than Me”

