Tags

, , , , ,

Hey, all. Quiet again today. I am in not the greatest mood and I had the busiest day. So busy I cracked open a Diet Coke at 9:30 this morning and when I clocked out nine hours later, it was warm and only half gone. That busy.

Reader questions up top. Polka dot bonanza in the middle. Friend Friday Q&A below. Happy weekend!

How was your week? What song should I download to cheer myself up? What’s the funniest thing you’ve seen/heard lately?

 

Friend Friday questions courtesy of Katy at Modly Chic:

1. Should someone’s size stop them from fashion blogging or having a voice in the community?  

Oh hell to the no. One of the very  best things, I think, about the fashion blogging community is the variety of people involved. When I first started out, I had my concerns about being “ideal” in various ways, but what I quickly found was a vibrant and welcoming community that is bursting with diversity. Size doesn’t even factor in, in my opinion. Style is style.

2. In your opinion, can the term “curvy” and “plus-sized” be used interchangeably when it comes to fashion?
I guess I don’t really understand the distinction. Plenty of people are curvy without being plus-sized. I kind of think both labels are stupid. Why do we even need them?

3.  Many people make the argument that catering to plus sized women would promote being overweight as “okay”.  What do you think?  Should more designers be catering to plus size women?
I think of designers as being artists, so I don’t really think they should “cater” to anyone. The aesthetic they choose is up to them. That said, I don’t see why they shouldn’t design for plus-sized women. It shows a lack of creativity if you’re unwilling to create with more than one size in mind.

4.  Should the mainstream fashion industry be showcasing more plus size models?
Yes, of course. Just like they should showcase more short people, more people of average weight and build, more people of color, more diversity in age, etc. But they don’t. It’s a shame. But it is what it is.

5. For you personally, how do you view your size, the struggle with it through the years, your ideal size, etc…
Um. How much time do you have? My struggle is vast and spans a decade.

Cliff Notes version: I am at what I consider my ideal size, at present. I feel somewhat out-of-place commenting on plus-size issues given that I have never been plus-size. But I’ve been on the other end of the spectrum through hell and back. If anyone wants to tell me that my experience is somehow negated by the fact that I am petite, go ahead. Just know that I will probably punch you in the face.

I love the body that I have now, but  it has been one hell of an odyssey to get here, both physically and mentally. The journey has been worth it. My current shape is one that I work hard at (through an extremely balanced diet and solid fitness regime) but I am healthy and happy and I won’t apologize for it. Trust me, I have earned it.

Skirt – Thrifted
Pin Dot Button-Down – Thrifted (Gap)
Shoes – Work
Earrings – 5.7.9
Scarf/Belt – Wet Seal

Title courtesy of The Bird and The Bee – “La La La” 

