Tags

, , , ,

Exhale.

Well, I don’t want to jinx anything just yet. Because technically the kids aren’t back in school until Tuesday. But we can almost, almost, almost close the books on my smoothest Back-To-School weekend ever. I will say that business was lacking ever-so-slightly. But the real triumph was the absolute lack of shenanigans this year. It was amazing. BTS usually brings high levels of drama, but this year went off without a hitch. No argumentative bargain shoppers, no massive storm-outs at the fitting rooms, no mother-daughter brawls, no creeper dads, no run on double zero jeans, no high-maintenance teen divas. Not even one person yelling at me over the lack of boot-cut jeans vs. the abundance of skinny-legs. Amazing!

We had one small mad rush tonight at 5:45 (Of course, because the mall closes at six on Sundays) but otherwise, it was a blessedly low-stress weekend. Or maybe I’ve just gotten better in my execution over the past three years. Either way. I just have to get through tomorrow and then Tuesday calls for some serious R&R. I haven’t figured out just how I’m going to celebrate but I will figure out some way to adequately decompress from all of it.


 So, if you’ve been reading since clear back in January, you might remember that I am so NOT an 80s fan. Hence 90s week. My loathing of the 80s covers just about everything from the music to the clothes. The 80s are not back in my book and they never will be. Therefore, I do my best to shun any piece of clothing that is even remotely 80s-inspired. My oft recycled retort when faced with anything with a large bow or with obnoxious geometric leanings is Yeah, that looks like something I’d wear to a baby shower circa 1985.

Funny though. That’s exactly what I said, when this dress caught my eye. I was just about to leave a rather sketch little thrift store on the outskirts of town when out from a rack of gnarly-looking old sweaters jumped this colorful little number. I was in a hurry to leave. I didn’t dare try it on. It didn’t even have a tag. I had a $5 bill to my name in a cash-only establishment. So I politely inquired as to the price, knowing that if it was meant to be, it would be. The cashier croaked a quote of $3 at me and I gladly forked it over.

This dress is old and delicate. I’d defend my purchase of a dress that pre-dates me graduating kindergarten by claiming it looks more sophisticated. I’d say, well this isn’t your grandma’s 80s dress. But then again, it just might be. This would make a nice church dress for a reformed member of the Brat Pack. Or maybe I could just wear it for another day heading up the music program at Alta Dena Middle School. Hot mic, anyone? 

They say everything that’s old can be new again. And I usually beg to differ. But every now and then, and with the right gold accessories? It just might be a little true.

Dress – Thrifted
Necklace – Wet Seal
Gold Bangles – Work
Shoes – Charlotte Russe

Title courtesy of  Peter Gabriel – “Sledgehammer”

