Tags

, , , , , ,

Evening! Or should we say evenin’? I really hate coming up with a new greeting every day. I’m just saying. I just don’t know how else to begin blog entries, though. I really should come up with a standard greeting, given that I post daily. But whatever.

I do have something fun to share today! It’s a recipe. I made this tonight, by my own self, and was quite pleased with how it turned out. It’s a great summer treat, so make some and enjoy it while it’s still summer proper.

Lavender Lemonade: (Courtesy of AllRecipes.com)

Ingredients

  • 1 tray ice cubes
  • 1/4 cup dried lavender
  • 2 cups boiling water
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 8 lemons
  • 5 cups cold water, or as needed

Directions

  1. Place ice cubes into a 2 quart pitcher. Place the lavender into a bowl, and pour boiling water over it. Allow to steep for about 10 minutes, then strain out the lavender and discard. Mix the sugar into the hot lavender water, then pour into the pitcher with the ice.
  2. Squeeze the juice from the lemons into the pitcher, getting as much juice as you can. Top off the pitcher with cold water, and stir. Taste, and adjust lemon juice or sugar if desired.

Now, I’m a lousy chef, but occasionally, I find a good recipe that I enjoy making and consuming and then I get all excited. Like I’m a regular Rachael Ray or something. Except without the gross amounts of annoyness and mispronounced words. Does anyone else hate Rachael Ray or am I in the minority here? Because, I like really really hate Rachael Ray. Although, I do occasionally leave her show on, if it comes on the TVs at the gym. Ire is good fodder during cardio time. A friend once dared me to write a poem about how RR represents the downfall of society. And while I never got around to it, I’m pretty sure I could write that poem. But enough about Rachael Ray. I’m getting annoyed just talking about it.



 

Pictures are kind of awkward today, because I was expecting company and in a hurry. But I hope that the outfit kind of speaks for itself.

To be honest, I had no idea purple and blue could look so gorgeous together. That is until I saw Regis Philbin rocking this combo on Letterman a short while ago. Now, I’m a fairly unabashed Regis and Kelly fan. (That’s rich coming from someone who just dissed Rachael Ray, I know.) But I can say I honestly never expected to take any fashion cues from old Regis. It just so happened that he was wearing a royal blue shirt and a deep purple tie. And granted I was half asleep watching Letterman, but I thought to myself man that looks really snazzy. I scribbled “blue + purple” on my dry erase board before going to bed that night and it’s been stuck in my brain to try it out ever since. What can I say? Inspiration works in mysterious ways, sometimes.

So, I thought this made a lovely end of summer combo. The one thing I really lacked a piece of jewelry that incorporated both colors. I ended up DIY-ing this necklace by intertwining two separate necklaces, in order to make a piece that suited my needs. Evoking yet one more daytime television diva, and channeling my inner Martha. For the record, I got no beef with Martha. She did hard time and can make potpourri from scratch. Martha is the shit. End of story.

Dress – Thrifted
Purple Rouched Tank – Work
Necklaces – Thrifted and Work
Shoes – Work
Belt – Thrifted

 Title courtesy of Conor Oberst – “Get-Well-Cards

